home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2018, 02:42 PM   #1
Wesdunns70t5m
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Default Efan swap help

So today I picked up an electric fan, wiring, and relays from a 97 960. Ive measured the shroud and marked where to cut to make it fit, but Iím clueless on the wiring. Some places say you can use the temp sensor in the radiator, others say that a different sensor is needed. Can someone draw me up a simple wiring diagram or something of the sort? Iíd like to free up some engine bay room and some horses by doing this conversion. Thanks in advancsd
Wesdunns70t5m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 02:54 PM   #2
GeneralBurrito
Board Member
 
GeneralBurrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: California
Default



When I do the swap, I'll be just connecting the battery to the relay with an inline 30A fuse, have the temp sensor on the rad hose set up for high speed, and the low speed will be a 12V switch inside the car that I turn on or off whenever I want.

Last edited by GeneralBurrito; 11-12-2018 at 02:59 PM..
GeneralBurrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 02:59 PM   #3
JohnMc
PV Abuser
 
JohnMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Louis
Default

I did this on mine a long time ago, but I had Megasquirt to use as a programmable output.

The fan control relay has 12V+ and ground going to it, and there are two 'control' wires. These are grounded to turn the fan on. One for 'low' speed, one for 'high'.

My car was a late model 240, so it had a pusher fan (that I removed as part of this mod) that came on when the A/C was on (and hot, I think it was hooked to a pressure switch in the system, not merely on when the compressor was on). I kept that system in place, and added an MS output to that, to control the 'low' speed setting. In MS I set the 'on' temp about 5 degrees hotter than the thermostat temp, so in normal use with the car moving, the fan wouldn't come on at all. There's no reason to run it at the thermostat temp, it will just run constantly.

The temp sensor in the radiator was set (from the factory?) to a rather uncomfortably hot temp - it came on at something like 220 degrees. I used that to engage 'high' speed on the fan, as a 'dumb' failsafe. Just ran a wire from the relay 'high' terminal to one side of the switch, and a wire from the other side to a ground.

On the low speed circuit, MS already was set up to ground a circuit to engage the fan, so I just connected the wire up to the relay. But the existing pusher fan circuit switched on 12V+ to engage the fan, so I just used a cube relay there.

'Control' circuit:
pusher fan circuit 12V+ --> relay terminal 86 --> relay terminal 85 (although really, 85 or 86 are interchangeable) --> ground
'Main'
low speed relay wire --> relay terminal 30 --> relay terminal 87 --> ground

That turned a 'hot is on' pusher fan signal to a 'ground is on' cooling fan signal.
__________________
'63 PV Rat Rod
'93 245 16VT Classic #1141
JohnMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 03:29 PM   #4
Wesdunns70t5m
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneralBurrito View Post


When I do the swap, I'll be just connecting the battery to the relay with an inline 30A fuse, have the temp sensor on the rad hose set up for high speed, and the low speed will be a 12V switch inside the car that I turn on or off whenever I want.
Beautiful. This is the way Iíll go. Thank you both for your help
Wesdunns70t5m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 03:33 PM   #5
JohnMc
PV Abuser
 
JohnMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Louis
Default

Lol, I wonder if I was using the temp sensor wrong on mine. Eh, it worked. The two terminals connected at around 220 degrees.
JohnMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:13 PM   #6
80series
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Middlesex, NC
Default

Just did this yesterday to my 240. It definitely opens up some room and I'll take any freed up power that i can get! Very easy to wire up, and i hate wiring!
80series is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:33 PM   #7
GeneralBurrito
Board Member
 
GeneralBurrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 80series View Post
Just did this yesterday to my 240. It definitely opens up some room and I'll take any freed up power that i can get! Very easy to wire up, and i hate wiring!
Did you have to change your alternator?
GeneralBurrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 11:43 PM   #8
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

30amp mini fuse or blade fuse might not be enough. You might want Maxi-fuse..
__________________
85 GLH 367whp
00 Insight mpg > yours.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 11:58 PM   #9
2turbotoys
Salaminizer
 
2turbotoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Reading pa
Default

There are 2 sensors available, use the low temp one
__________________
1979 242 B21 on MS, waiting on L33
1991 740t RIP at 320K, dam rust...
2006 V50 T5 AWD Eurosport Tuning Stage 1 kit, downpipe, intercooler
2turbotoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 07:28 AM   #10
DET17
Reformed SAABaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NW Georgia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
30amp mini fuse or blade fuse might not be enough. You might want Maxi-fuse..
Factory late 7/ 9 series uses a fusible link ..... I'll bet supply is rated nearer to 40A for high speed fan ops.
__________________
Project "cheap thrills" build thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...67#post4211467

Feedback thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=198746
DET17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 01:01 PM   #11
cosbySweater
Board Member
 
cosbySweater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monterey/Falun
Default

Don't the Volvo relays have a internal breaker? Also what ECU do you have? If it's lh2.4 just wire it to the ECU and get a efan compatible ECU from a 9 series
__________________
1979 Volvo 244DL 6.0/4l80e,8.8,Ms3x goldbox ecu and Mircrosquirt tcu, GTX4202r, 228/230cam, tbss intake, 11.4@123mph 9psi
1991 Volvo 245, Efan conversion, tcam, 4.10s, Aw71L
1982 Ford Fairmont Futura, 4.8/th400, 8.8, mircrosquirt, 7875 turbo, 228/230 cam, Project Cheap Thrills

Quote:
Originally Posted by bricktop420 View Post
Thank you very much everybody... i now feel sufficiently retarded and will go cry in the corner...
cosbySweater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 01:07 PM   #12
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
30amp mini fuse or blade fuse might not be enough. You might want Maxi-fuse..
I've been using a 30amp for a few years on 2 different cars, no issues to report.
__________________
Cult Person. Pissing in your Kool-Aid.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 01:21 PM   #13
Wesdunns70t5m
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Default

Iíve checked my ecu number and unfortunately I wonít be able to control the fan from the ecu

The approach Iím gonna take is I ordered one of these:
https://www.amazon.com/Kangnice-Temp...iiL&ref=plSrch

This will be placed in the upper radiator hose. Iím gonna drill the hole out and tap it to accept the sensor from a bmw. The sensor has two part numbers, one for an 80/88 degree sensor, and the other for 91/99. This will be used to control both fan speeds. Iím sure I couldíve done this whole thing cheaper, but this is about the easiest way Iíve found to automatically control the fans.

Iíll post up with the results/anymore questions. One part I ordered wonít arrive until mid-late December, so stay tuned!
Wesdunns70t5m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 01:56 PM   #14
CAPT_BLOTTO
#Crush It
 
CAPT_BLOTTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City
Default

What car are you putting it into?
__________________
Hello My Glorious!

Junkyard Parts request thread!
Mesquite FB page! Constant updates!

Da Yellow Sold | $800 245 | 77 244
CAPT_BLOTTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 07:26 PM   #15
Wesdunns70t5m
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Default

Damn, can’t believe I missed that in the first post. Lh2.4 1990 760 wagon. I’ve already deleted the ac components, along with the front condenser fan which was locked up anyway. I daily the car, but plan on making some pretty good power coming soon. I’m still acquiring some parts for the 19t install. Just gotta save up for the exhaust parts, and oil return. I’m mainly doing the fan conversion for engine bay room, and noise levels. I don’t expect a huge gain with the electric fan honestly. Once I get the mechanical fan in my hands it may be heavier than I expect and may change my mind though
Wesdunns70t5m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 09:11 PM   #16
2turbotoys
Salaminizer
 
2turbotoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Reading pa
Default

I've noticed a difference, engine seems to rev a bit easier. If nothing else you remove all that weight from the end of your water pump.
2turbotoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 11:33 AM   #17
cosbySweater
Board Member
 
cosbySweater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monterey/Falun
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesdunns70t5m View Post
Damn, canít believe I missed that in the first post. Lh2.4 1990 760 wagon. Iíve already deleted the ac components, along with the front condenser fan which was locked up anyway. I daily the car, but plan on making some pretty good power coming soon. Iím still acquiring some parts for the 19t install. Just gotta save up for the exhaust parts, and oil return. Iím mainly doing the fan conversion for engine bay room, and noise levels. I donít expect a huge gain with the electric fan honestly. Once I get the mechanical fan in my hands it may be heavier than I expect and may change my mind though
It's lh2.4 you can just swap to a later model ECU. It's nice having it ECU controlled. Because you know they like did that from the factory..
cosbySweater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 12:38 PM   #18
Wesdunns70t5m
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosbySweater View Post
It's lh2.4 you can just swap to a later model ECU. It's nice having it ECU controlled. Because you know they like did that from the factory..
True, but Iíve got tlao chips that I wouldnít be able to use anymore. At least I donít think Iíd be able to use a 5xx chip in the 9xx chip needed to control the fans
Wesdunns70t5m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.