home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
paulcurran
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default B230FT backfire under boost

My street driver is a 93 240 2.4 with a 94 940 turbo motor & T5. It has oversized pistons, RSI stage 1 cam & adj. gear with 2 deg. advance, Lostartof chips, 15 lbs. boost on 15g. Ran pretty well first 2000 miles, now it has started to cut out under boost, will actually backfire if the throttle is opened quickly. It started just occasionally doing this, now it's almost undrivable. No ck engine light, drives smoothly down the road. If you keep your foot in it now it will stop accelerating & buck until you lift, worse in higher gears under load.
Any ideas? I was thinking throttle switch, but runs well off boost. I don't have a wideband yet, sure feels like it's leaning out though. If the prepump quit would it act like this? Doesn't matter how much fuel is in the tank. Can cruise at 80 mph but can't pass from any speed.
paulcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:41 PM   #2
olov
doing something stupid
 
olov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: warrenton, nc 27589
Default

blowout? plug type and gap?
__________________
Quote:
opinions are like ***holes, i have one, and they're censored on tb
olov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:43 PM   #3
paulcurran
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default backfire

NGK BP7 something? Forgot, will have to go pull 1.
paulcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:00 PM   #4
Magnum TE
Broke another B230F+T
 
Magnum TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Santa Rosa Ca
Default

pressurize the IC plumbing from turbo outlet to throttle body and see if there's a leak.

Got a wideband?
What do the plugs show?
__________________
Goldie Bricks - '92 940T : B230F+T MSnS-e...
The Black - '98 318i : stock drive-train DD

I have some cool stuff done to my cars

The Gold Car: Owner since 2001
B230F+T MS1nS-E / Ford T5, 1pc DL
ebay FMIC / Mechman Alternator
T3 60/.63 ATP WG / 98#/hr injectors
Full 3" Turbo to tail / IPD TP Cam
IPD bars / Coilovers
Koni Dampners / Lower Chassis brace
NIW-T3 camber plates / Full poly front end
Full Kaplhenke Rear end
-Torque rods -PH Bar -Subframe
Daily Driver
Magnum TE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 06:44 AM   #5
mrjaybeeze
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: norway
Default

lean ? same behaviour as an old volvo with not enough choke when cold....?

YS Jaybee
__________________
ipdown.net/jetronic.info/tiki-index.php
Site open in "lame mode"
If you have some issues
just send me a message
mrjaybeeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 07:10 AM   #6
PEGASUS 6
Board Member
 
PEGASUS 6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Building 7
Default

good luck guy, seems like a lot of blind tuning imo w/o a wideband
PEGASUS 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:41 AM   #7
Juggernot
Taking myself seriously.
 
Juggernot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Default

Does sound like a boost leak though.
__________________
Eric

94 945t
92 F-250 7.3L Intl. Diesel+t

Quote:
Originally Posted by pball72008 View Post
I am now unsubscribing from my own thread now, because honestly you annoy me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbowagon View Post
This could proble be something so sample that it just is confusing to my head.
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
and if you're not familiar with outset how do you start?
Juggernot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:54 AM   #8
B_licious
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default

check your maf sensor
B_licious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:55 AM   #9
B_licious
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default

also check your fuel pressure regulater pressure and return pressure
B_licious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:04 AM   #10
Juggernot
Taking myself seriously.
 
Juggernot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester NH
Default

Also, is the hose between the MAF and the turbo collapsing? Mine had a hole that I couldnt see at one point that gave me similar problems.
Juggernot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:30 AM   #11
Dicktater
Stiff Member
 
Dicktater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nunya
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juggernot View Post
Also, is the hose between the MAF and the turbo collapsing? Mine had a hole that I couldnt see at one point that gave me similar problems.
This gave me major headaches! When I would mash the gas it would fall flat on it's face,let off the throttle and it would take off. The really bad thing that would also happen when it did this is the engine would suck one of the three front engine seals sideways and cause a major oil leak. This happened twice before I found a soft turbo intake hose.

I did get plenty of practice changing front seals....
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliMeatWagon View Post
I hope your treehouse gets cancer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe View Post
I buy a few when foodstamps get here because I have an investment strategy.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by volvo740b234/531 View Post
I smoke my weed and dream of an awesome life
Feedback >http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=197700
Dicktater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:27 PM   #12
Jerd
Board Member
 
Jerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver WA
Default

Get a wideband. Problem solved.
Jerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:41 PM   #13
Karl Buchka
Never go full retard.
 
Karl Buchka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEGASUS 6 View Post
good luck guy, seems like a lot of blind tuning imo w/o a wideband
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerd View Post
Get a wideband. Problem solved.
lolwat
__________________
Fake Race Car
Karl Buchka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 01:53 PM   #14
paulcurran
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default backfire

Thanks for the input. The plugs are NGK BPR7ES .030 gap. I ordered an AEM wideband, are there any threads on wiring these? The intake hose going into the intercooler looks real soft, try to find a replacement & see what happens. Paul
paulcurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 02:33 PM   #15
ElBertoPolvo
i would prefer not to
 
ElBertoPolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: sylvan springs, alabama....
Default

hmm...mine still does this.....if i cut the engine off then back on sometimes it will go away.
yes, the consensus is that a wideband will work wonders for diagnosis....but i am thinking my intank pump is pooping out.

good luck......
__________________
1988 244....rip 4-27-11
1993 945t...gone....in the hands of the lord (brett)
2006 chevy 1500...work slut
2013 ford fusion..1.6 eco-poot




Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazychopstick View Post
This chick better have beer for anal flavored nipples. God daaaaaamn.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kahlua240 View Post
I was about to masturbate then go to bed. This thread ruined that for me.
ElBertoPolvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:25 PM   #16
Magnum TE
Broke another B230F+T
 
Magnum TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Santa Rosa Ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum TE View Post
pressurize the IC plumbing from turbo outlet to throttle body and see if there's a leak.
Do you have a boost leak, do not pass go do not collect 200$ pressurize the intake plumbing before you do anything else, this is a STAGE ZERO maintenance item.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulcurran View Post
Thanks for the input. The plugs are NGK BPR7ES .030 gap. I ordered an AEM wideband, are there any threads on wiring these? The intake hose going into the intercooler looks real soft, try to find a replacement & see what happens. Paul
Pull the plugs, what do they look like? White? Dark? You need to tighten up your plug gap a bit, stock is .028 for testing purposes go to a .026 just to be sure that you're not blowing it out. (later you can go back to a .028)

Follow the install instructions for the AEM, it's simple enough to not need a thread. At this point you don't need to know what's coming out of the engine. You need to know if un-metered air is going in, or already metered air is leaking out.

Quote:
...has oversized pistons, & bucks until you lift
My wife's got oversized pistons as well and she doesn't stop bucking until I let off, I don't see the problem here. (she insisted that I wrote that)
Magnum TE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:30 PM   #17
monkecmonkedo
Bored Member
 
monkecmonkedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manchester Center, VT
Default

I just installed an AEM wideband in my +T (92 245) today. Piece of cake, just follow the instructions for the most part. For the power and ground, I just used my existing gauge power and ground. I took all four wires out of the sheath to make them more flexible (I just coiled the extra wire up and zip tied it). I'm using the Nernst output (0-1V) for my O2 readings, so I ran the white wire (analog out) through the firewall, put a spade connector and insulator on it and hooked it up to the O2 sensor input terminal. There are no splices, the wire runs directly from the gauge to the O2 sensor. I've heard the Nerst output doesn't work well for others, but I hooked up this way and it works perfectly (LH2.4). YMMV. Be sure to set the pot on the back of the gauge to P4 for Nernst output if you're going to use one O2 sensor. I'll be using the serial out (blue wire) for data logging in the near future so I coiled the wire up in an easy to reach spot for later.

The toughest thing to do was to pass the wire with the six wide connector for the wideband O2 sensor through the firewall. I used the rubber plug near the exhaust manifold (there is a big wire bundle passing through it and there are two smaller areas that are open). Just cut as "x" in one of the open spots with a razor blade to allow the wire to pass through. It is a bit tricky to get the six wire white connector through. For an easier install, you can pull the wires out of the connector, they'll pass through much easier. Just be really sure that you mark down which wire goes where in the connector.

Hope this helps. If you have trouble, I can post some pics in a few days.
__________________
1993 245 Classic
1992 245+T (DD) Build thread here.
1976 66GL
1975 164E
1972 P1800E Chassis number 39412 (Doesn't exist according to Volvo)

Feedback thread here.
monkecmonkedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 06:08 PM   #18
Magnum TE
Broke another B230F+T
 
Magnum TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Santa Rosa Ca
Default

David, I'm glad you had success using the Narrow Band output off the AEM for LH. You are the exception to the rule, I would not recommend anyone using the simulated output for LH's O2 reading, it just adds one more variable to the equation. I used my AEM (I use an innovate LC1 now) I just had it stand alone, and not interface with any of the Volvo's systems.

If possible you should ground the O2 sensor to the ECU ground at the passenger footwell, this will help ensure a accurate reading by limiting ground faults.

Still the OP needs to confirm that he hasn't got any leaks, and that his MAF to turbo intake hose isn't collapsing.
Magnum TE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 06:20 PM   #19
1983Turbo242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum TE View Post
David, I'm glad you had success using the Narrow Band output off the AEM for LH. You are the exception to the rule, I would not recommend anyone using the simulated output for LH's O2 reading, it just adds one more variable to the equation. I used my AEM (I use an innovate LC1 now) I just had it stand alone, and not interface with any of the Volvo's systems.

If possible you should ground the O2 sensor to the ECU ground at the passenger footwell, this will help ensure a accurate reading by limiting ground faults.

Still the OP needs to confirm that he hasn't got any leaks, and that his MAF to turbo intake hose isn't collapsing.
I don't quite get why everyone hates the Nernst simulator on the AEM widebands. Mine works great with L.H. 2.2 For the most part L.H. is too dumb to know it is not getting a true narrow band signal.

Check fuel flow. If it is doing it almost all the time I would be suspicious of a fuel supply problem. When was the last time you changed your fuel filter?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanwheeler View Post
Too lazy and bleeding to get my camera.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bricknoob View Post
In that case when that package shows up on your door tomorrow, just throw it out. No, I'm not saying it's dangerous or anything, just get rid of it. Are there many kids roaming your neighborhood?
Just some noob.

Last edited by 1983Turbo242; 02-18-2012 at 06:31 PM..
1983Turbo242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:56 PM   #20
superveggie12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Question

I'm having the same problem. Was it ever figured out?
__________________
superveggie12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 04:13 PM   #21
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Usually is the intake hose into the turbo from the air filter collapsing. Or you have bad air leak somewhere from the turbo to the intake. Could be spark blow out if you have big turbo and way more boost then stock, fix that with colder plug and tighter plug gap. NGK BPR8ES at .022 to .025 gap.
__________________
1988 245 White slicktop M47 Wagon! 2.5L NA 8v going in.
1990 745 B230FT Getrag JohnV flywheel 240mm clutch 13c A-cam 3.54 G80 544K MILES
1991 740SE B230FT NPR Strut braces IPD bar A cam 550cc EV14's. 3.73 G80 M90 to put in.
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 04:13 PM   #22
poulrais
Board Member
 
poulrais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, CAN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superveggie12 View Post
I'm having the same problem. Was it ever figured out?
It probably was a lean condition that sometimes causes a "backfire" at the intake level. Some call it a lean POP! Do you have a wideband installed?

EDIT: Reread the OP's question/description. It's probably what Sbabbs is describing and not what I thought it was...
__________________


1990, Volvo 740 16v +T
1991, Volvo 745T 16V - crushed
build thread: http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=249553
poulrais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 04:18 PM   #23
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Yeah what exactly is it doing? FAlling on it's face or popping and jerking?
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 05:01 PM   #24
shoestring
Board Member
 
shoestring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Beverly, 01915
Default

Just because no one has said it, I'd also look at valve springs.
shoestring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 05:20 PM   #25
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

Most common issue would be spark blow out, from looking at this thread and reading it sounds like his .030 plug gap causing the issue. I recently have a similar issue coming up on my wagon where after a period of time my car will start to buck and miss at the onset of boost. I pulled my plugs and they were up to .030, I gapped them back down to .026 and it was back to normal. I had the same issue 4-5k miles ago and the fix was the same thing a new set of plugs gapped correctly and the problem goes away.

Other good advice in this thread from having a WB, not feeding it to LH, along with doing a pressure test.

But the plug gap is the most common issue besides the intake hose collasping just like sbabbs mentioned. Only thing I have to add to that is that the bpr8es plugs might be a little to cold as some locals have had minor issues with it on mild boost (15psi).
__________________
Chip Feedback Thread / PM LH 2.4 Chip Prices
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.