• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

b230ft into '79 244, wiring?

benknowsbest

hello,
im planning an engine swap for my 240, ive managed to source a b230ft from an 87-88 740t to pop in. this is my first time doing anything like this so there will be a lot of head scratching along the way im sure, but the main confusion at the moment is what to do for the wiring harness?
the donor engine runs lh2.2, the car its going into currently has a b21a in it. ive done a lot of googling but its hard to find information for this specific combination.
is it simply a matter of grabbing an lh2.2 computer and harness from a 240 or will i have to splice something together from a 740?

thanks in advance, and sorry for the dumb questions.

The 2.2 harness from the 240 uses the chrysler ignition system and not ezk117 like the 740 so at minimum, you'd have to cut and splice in the wiring for the hall sensor and ignition module.

The 740 harness is a hodgepodge of wiring and I wouldn't recommend using it unless you have plenty of alcohol.

If you made the jump to lh2.4, you could take the ecus from a turbo 940 and harness from an lh2.4 240 and then you'd only have to add a crank sensor, and obviously the lh2.4 AMM.

The other alternative at this point would be to ditch Bosch altogether and go to an aftermarket EMS like megasquirt. http://www.useasydocs.com/ Diyautotune sells the microsquirt with a decent length of harness... Something to think about.

Last edited:
If you made the jump to lh2.4, you could take the harness and ecus from a turbo 940 and then you'd only have to add a crank sensor, and obviously the lh2.4 AMM.