home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Old 06-15-2012, 02:41 AM   #1
TheVulvinator
Board Member

Default '93 b230f ran too low on oil....questions

My brother has a 1993 240 auto w/ b230f and unknowlingly ran the car with too low of oil, and the car shut off on him while he was driving. He said there were a couple loud clunking noices right before it happened. When i arrived to help, there were no fluids leaking and all other part were intact and fine. I had him start the car for me, and the car started and stayed running for about few seconds, but there were serious loud knocking noises going on. After it shut off, i checked the dipstick and there was no oil on it. I am no expert but pretty volvo savvy, and I believe he ran the car way too low on oil.

My main question is, what most likely happened internally? I know that piston rings can fail, or rods and cam stuff can break, but I want to know what usually happens in a b230 motor. I am just trying to decide how I can best help him fix the car and get it running. I am assuming he would need a new engine. I know i can go to the junkyard for a motor, but its an obvious gamble since the cars are there because they don't "run". I can and most likely will post up a wanted ad for a new motor, but I dont know if it is only the bottom end that's messed up, or if i need both top and bottom end. I can do the labor myself to save him the trouble from paying someone, that the only reason I would consider him having a new(used) motor put in. Or hey, maybe by some chance of luck it is something where he would not need a motor, and i would just have to replace a few parts(yea right).

Any help and insight is appreciated because I have never ran an engine too low on oil to know exactely what the internals effects are. Just want to come up with the best and smartest option. Thanks!