home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2015, 09:52 PM   #1
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default Volvo Factory Horns - upgrade

I wanted to replace my factory horns on my 740 with louder horns.

I went to the junkyard and came home with two separate sets of Fiamm horns, one from a Jaguar with two tabs, and one with one tab out of a Nissan. All horns test out fine when connected to a 12V battery.

So, I proceed to wire the two tab horns up to my car (like the originals), and they do not work! After testing all leads from harness with a multitester, I find that when the power is on, all wires are hot! The horn button apparently completes ground.

After looking at the wiring diagrams, and talking with other Volvo guys, I am still stumped. I read somewhere that there are certain horns that should be used for the upgrade with no issues (Audi?).

Can anyone shed some light on how I can get louder horns without the need to rewire the whole set up and add a relay? Can I get these other horns to work?
__________________
1989 Volvo 745 TIC
"A perpetual project"
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:44 PM   #2
lummert
Board Member
 
lummert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland IN
Default

Have you downloaded the wiring diagram for your 89 740?
__________________
Trying to understand stupid people is like trying to pick up a turd by the clean end.
lummert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:50 PM   #3
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

Yes, I have that in both my Haynes and Volvo Green Book. I have a Volvo friend who does automotive wiring, and we can't figure out why both leads to each horn are hot. Strange!
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 01:03 AM   #4
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

Well, put the stock horns back in until I can figure this out - can't be caught around here with no horns!
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 12:54 PM   #5
tintintin
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

I did the same upgrade as you; pulled Jaguar FIAMM horns at the JY and retrofitted them to the 740, but didn't have any puzzling wiring issues. I do remember having to fab together some of the bracketry however. I'll take a look at the wiring later.

Better tone and volume than the stock one-disk horn but not way louder.
tintintin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 01:21 PM   #6
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

The brackets I pulled I just had to twist them 90 degrees, and they worked on the factory bracket. Any help with the wiring would greatly be appreciated! Pictures if possible.

I want a "get the hell out of the way" horn rather than the stock "beep-beep" like the Road Runner, or an old VW bug! LOL!

Last edited by dthierer; 07-28-2015 at 01:22 PM.. Reason: additional info
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 01:42 PM   #7
nordmaschine
forced instruction
 
nordmaschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Balkans, BiH
Default

Why not fit a two disc one from a later 7/9 series? They sound nice to me at least.

Anyways, yeah, button completes the ground, I know old VW, Audi and Mercedes horns work that way. Mercedes one sounds much like Volvo two disc horn, perhaps louder. I'd go with a Mercedes one in good condition, that should really do it.
__________________
Jetronic is romantic.
- '94 965 - D̶2̶4̶T̶I̶C̶, then M̶5̶0̶B̶2̶5̶ now OM606.962.
- '90 744 turbo 16 valve LPG - B204GT/M90 - trophy w̶i̶f̶e̶ car.
- '89 764 B280F - Daily barge.
- Various 740's, 940's, 960's and a couple of 760's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjets On a Plane View Post
Whiteblocks
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralSenn View Post
I think I might be too stupid to own a car.
nordmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 01:48 PM   #8
tryingbe
Boosting along.
 
tryingbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthierer View Post
Yes, I have that in both my Haynes and Volvo Green Book. I have a Volvo friend who does automotive wiring, and we can't figure out why both leads to each horn are hot. Strange!
Wires are hot because the wires are too small for the amperage required by the new used horns.

Buy some relays, get some gauge 10 wires and wire the new horns directly to the battery.

http://www.rattlebars.com/mtz/hornrelay.html
__________________
85 GLH 367whp
00 Insight mpg > yours.
tryingbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 01:51 PM   #9
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

I can do that, but then I need to slick in to get the horns to work from steering wheel button. I really don't look forward to a complete re-installation of horns.

Also, I do currently have horns from a '92 940 in mine now.
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 02:56 PM   #10
Khrrck
Professional Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Beaverton, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingbe View Post
Wires are hot because the wires are too small for the amperage required by the new used horns.

Buy some relays, get some gauge 10 wires and wire the new horns directly to the battery.

http://www.rattlebars.com/mtz/hornrelay.html
I think he meant electrical hot, not temperature hot.
__________________
'87 240 budget wagon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty Rick View Post
Navigating the Siskiyous in a 3 wheeled Volvo will not end well.
Khrrck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 03:01 PM   #11
JohnMc
PV Abuser
 
JohnMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Louis
Default

Older full sized RWD Buicks and Cadillacs had sets of 4 horns on them. A full quartet of high and low voices that harmonize to say '**** you buddy' in a beautiful assertive manner.
__________________
'63 PV Rat Rod
'93 245 16VT Classic #1141
JohnMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 03:15 PM   #12
fortbrick
Board Member
 
fortbrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana
Default

I put horns from an s80 on my 740. Pretty loud for what they are
fortbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 04:03 PM   #13
VB242
Mojo Stealer
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Default

I got an aftermarket Fiamm horn kit from Advance for my Toyota, it sounds like a Crown Vic now, 2 horns and a relay, super easy to mount and wire. High and low tone, 135db from what I remember
__________________
1980 primer JDM flares franken-242DL, 1989 silver 780 sienna rear spring nivomat delete
VB242 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:34 PM   #14
24DinCT
Don Juan De La Nooch
 
24DinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rusty buttcheeks and busted doorhandles,CT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnMc View Post
Older full sized RWD Buicks and Cadillacs had sets of 4 horns on them. A full quartet of high and low voices that harmonize to say '**** you buddy' in a beautiful assertive manner.
This^^^^^^^^^^^

I grabbed the 4 horn set off of a Caddy Broughams and wired them with a relay activated by the factory wiring. Used a switch so I can go back and forth between the Roadrunner and the Titanic at will.
Frickin loud...especially coupled along with the factory horns!

Hardest part of the install was simply trying to find the real estate to mount them and mount them properly (opening downward).

10 gauge wire is overkill...12 is more than adequate.
__________________
83 244 DL+Ti---Being parted
82 242 TI project---bare bones, shaved, and tucked...never gettin done
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbrick82 View Post
It's all about the beer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blkaplan View Post
how come everytime i in the kitchen, you in the kitchen, in the god damn refridgerator
Buy my partz...here
Feedback...here

Last edited by 24DinCT; 07-28-2015 at 05:41 PM..
24DinCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:52 PM   #15
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

I too have the four horns from a Buick Roadmaster! I will be installing these too, run separately with a relay. But I want to keep the factory horns operational too.

As nordmaschine pointed out, I believe I read that Audi horns will be a direct upgrade without any complications.

A friend even recommended that I run everything off of the wiring to the buttons on the steering wheel, with a switch to select between which horn I want to use. I don't want to overcomplicate things though.

. . . did I mention that I already have an "Ooga" horn installed?
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:02 PM   #16
Ursan
الله الفول السوداني شطائر
 
Ursan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthierer View Post
I can do that, but then I need to slick in to get the horns to work from steering wheel button. I really don't look forward to a complete re-installation of horns.

Also, I do currently have horns from a '92 940 in mine now.

It's not that hard. The relay will make things easier for it. Once you figure out the ass-backwards of the wiring, you'll be fine.

I did it on my 780 with a pair of Hella supertone horns and a pair of air horns that I can switch back and forth with a toggle on the steering column. All controlled from the factory horn button.

Once you have the relay relaying, just connect the horns and you're done.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 740freak View Post
how psi a stock can support?
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedn_j View Post
I think this might be my chariot if I can jew the price down.

1990 780t Kind of Modded 1994 945t Pegz, Tintz, Hidz.
"Rear Wheel Drive, the way God intended. If a car is being pulled from the front, doesn't that mean it's being towed?"

"Lister, you are a polyp on the anus of society." - A.J. Rimmer
Ursan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:27 PM   #17
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

I am guessing that way, you have to have a separate relay for each set of horns?
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:33 PM   #18
Ursan
الله الفول السوداني شطائر
 
Ursan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthierer View Post
I am guessing that way, you have to have a separate relay for each set of horns?

Yes, that is if you run a separate set.

If your horns need more than what the + wire can supply (check the fuse) or if you're running more horns, then you need a relay. But you can't run 4 5 amp horns through a 15 amp relay so you'll need to double up or get a 30 amp relay.

This way the + wire stock is always hot and the horn button is ground, so run a relay so you don't cook the contacts regardless if you're running aftermarket horns.

My contacts had carbon traces even with the stick horns, so when I upgraded, I ran a relay to the new set and used the horn button as a common ground (through the relays)

If I think of it, I'll document what I did and post it.
Ursan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:42 PM   #19
apachechef
Burnt Sierra Madre
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fort Joe Smith, Klendathu
Default

I have three Cadillac shell horns and a rare Cadillac trumpet horn on my 245. love it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lummert View Post
Dammit, Lummert.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse8931 View Post
Well keep us updated on how your dumbass plan goes.
apachechef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:47 PM   #20
centason
CNT-FAI
 
centason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ft.Mill, SC
Default

Train horn /thread
__________________
Member: TBCCS
"The kind of man who wants the government to adopt and enforce his ideas is always the kind of man whose ideas are idiotic." -H. L. Mencken
Quote:
Originally Posted by 240240 View Post
Yes, but I keep having the dream of shoving the Cocaine up my ass!
Quote:
Originally Posted by golgothan View Post
Ohh god no, I'd rather eat hot diarrhea than drive a 7/9
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedFridge View Post
You sons of bitches are the biggest thread de-railers in forum history.
Any forums history.
centason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 06:54 PM   #21
Khrrck
Professional Amateur
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Beaverton, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by centason View Post
Train horn /thread
War Rig horn
Khrrck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 09:39 PM   #22
lummert
Board Member
 
lummert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 24DinCT View Post
This^^^^^^^^^^^

I grabbed the 4 horn set off of a Caddy Broughams and wired them with a relay activated by the factory wiring. Used a switch so I can go back and forth between the Roadrunner and the Titanic at will.
Frickin loud...especially coupled along with the factory horns!

Hardest part of the install was simply trying to find the real estate to mount them and mount them properly (opening downward).

10 gauge wire is overkill...12 is more than adequate.
Cars used to have a switch for city or country horns.
lummert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 09:41 PM   #23
Ursan
الله الفول السوداني شطائر
 
Ursan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lummert View Post
Cars used to have a switch for city or country horns.
This. This is how my setup is.
Ursan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 10:02 PM   #24
dthierer
Board Member
 
dthierer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Altamonte Springs, FL
Default

??? I don't see anything?
dthierer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 09:46 AM   #25
Ursan
الله الفول السوداني شطائر
 
Ursan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthierer View Post
??? I don't see anything?
I didn't post anything, I was just saying that I have a switch to go between my electric horns and my air horns.
Ursan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.