home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Symposium > article composition

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2014, 10:09 PM   #201
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer View Post
You shouldn't need to use shielded on the logic level signals.
A wise idea though?

Volvo wired the logic level output to Powerstage with a shielded wire
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 09:53 AM   #202
calvintibia001
Bench-Race Fanatic
 
calvintibia001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Default

Does DSM Coil with J702T work ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disco Inferno View Post
mooooooooooooooooooBRBRRRAAAAAAAPAPAPAAPAAPAAAAPAPAPVTAK
calvintibia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 05:31 PM   #203
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Meh, I already laid in a shielded wire for it, so...I don't think it can hurt anything
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 12:46 AM   #204
turbomatic2010
Board Member
 
turbomatic2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calvintibia001 View Post
Does DSM Coil with J702T work ?
yup

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDoug View Post
Thats interesting, because the Miata ignitor even has the same Mitsubishi logo & part number as the DSM one- I would think the Hyundai coils wold be the weaker ones, since all 4 coils share a common pole piece, the DSM coils can be seperated
turbomatic2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 12:56 AM   #205
calvintibia001
Bench-Race Fanatic
 
calvintibia001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbomatic2010 View Post
yup
Anyone know which wire does what on a 3 Wire DSM Coil ?

Last edited by calvintibia001; 09-27-2014 at 01:37 AM..
calvintibia001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 03:03 PM   #206
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calvintibia001 View Post
Anyone know which wire does what on a 3 Wire DSM Coil ?
Pretty easy peasy...

Use your continuity beepy tester...

One of the three is your switched 12v...which'll get split to both coils...the other is your (-) trigger from your igniter...one for each coil
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 12:26 PM   #207
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

With my Buchka Board installed...I'm not getting enough voltage to Igniter.

Wasted Spark Leads off the board show 0.08-0.1v while cranking...that's not lighting off the igniter.

Any advice?
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 12:28 PM   #208
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Looks like I put my VR Conditioner Signal in the wrong place...that'll do it.
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 12:11 PM   #209
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

got it all installed and running then?
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 03:41 PM   #210
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotankshane View Post
got it all installed and running then?
Installed. Not yet running. Gonna play with it some more, this evening
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 09:16 PM   #211
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Checking in...

Car runs like a bat outta hell!

I'm getting NO TACH signal from my J702t igniter...bummer, as it's the whole reason I chose it.

Wonder if it's bad or if it's with my car/tach.
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:47 AM   #212
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Glad the car's running for you, seems like a good product. Now if I could only figure something out about where mine is at...
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 03:35 PM   #213
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotankshane View Post
Glad the car's running for you, seems like a good product. Now if I could only figure something out about where mine is at...
Great product...terrible availability.

That's how Volvo aftermarket performance goes!

Last edited by Mylesofsmyles; 10-28-2014 at 11:14 PM..
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 07:01 PM   #214
Lord_Athlon
Sf1k Kryptonite
 
Lord_Athlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: If there were a bright center of the universe, im in the town that is furthest from
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mylesofsmyles View Post
Great product...terrible availability.

That's how Volvo aftermarket performance goes!
We get it man.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZVOLV View Post
I used paper books to learn how to do this stuff back in the day. Now I use pro software subscription
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvolvor
3/4", make everything as heavy as possible for no reason. It's also 4:1 compression ratio because that's how cosworth did it in 1978.
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:44 PM   #215
thevolvokid
142 whore
 
thevolvokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok.
Default

I got a 1997 eagle talon's ignition amplifier and the coil pack set up. These should work eith the wasted spark board right?
__________________
90 745 Turbo, tuned by myself made 365 whp completing a 1/4 mile pass at 12.93 @ 105.xx. Not bad for a stock block w/ 265,xxx miles that runs lh 2.4 and ekz
thevolvokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 11:15 PM   #216
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thevolvokid View Post
I got a 1997 eagle talon's ignition amplifier and the coil pack set up. These should work eith the wasted spark board right?
Seems like a pretty open slate to choose your igniter/coil pack.

Eagle Talon...that's DSM stuff? probably good stuff
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 11:18 PM   #217
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Any reported issues with NO TACH Signal from a J702T...I have no tach yet!
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 11:20 PM   #218
thevolvokid
142 whore
 
thevolvokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok.
Default

That's the miata amp right everyone seems to be using it just fine. Brett used it just fine I think?
thevolvokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 12:48 AM   #219
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thevolvokid View Post
That's the miata amp right everyone seems to be using it just fine. Brett used it just fine I think?
Yep, Miata amp...I used it for this feature...

I'm going to have to do some testing, this weekend to see where the problem is...

Could be bad cluster wiring, as well....
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 11:49 PM   #220
cosbySweater
Board Member
 
cosbySweater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Monterey/Falun
Default

I used the miata amp in my car and it worked just fine on the stock tac. If I remember correctly there is a pullup wire you may have to splice in as well to get your particular tach working properly. I'm gonna go look at my notes from when I ran mine
__________________
1979 Volvo 244DL 6.0/4l80e,8.8,Ms3x goldbox ecu and Mircrosquirt tcu, s366 clone.
2005 Honda Civic Hybrid, 5 Speed
1994 Corvette, 6speed, PNP special, gonna pill it to kill it

Quote:
Originally Posted by bricktop420 View Post
Thank you very much everybody... i now feel sufficiently retarded and will go cry in the corner...
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
How come we get a Cosby sweater but no Boner in sweatpants in this thread?
cosbySweater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 10:14 AM   #221
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosbySweater View Post
I used the miata amp in my car and it worked just fine on the stock tac. If I remember correctly there is a pullup wire you may have to splice in as well to get your particular tach working properly. I'm gonna go look at my notes from when I ran mine
Please do...it's a freshly restored R-sport cluster, so it's doubtful I have a issue with the tach.

Tested for continuity from wire at gauge to igniter...that's fine.
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 10:39 AM   #222
Lord_Athlon
Sf1k Kryptonite
 
Lord_Athlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: If there were a bright center of the universe, im in the town that is furthest from
Default

You might have to fire a dummy coil. The tach might be counting the voltage spike from the coil.
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 05:30 PM   #223
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

What a surprise...the TACH output on the Miata J702T igniter is (+)...it pulses like a tach should, but it's (+) not (-)

Rewire tach to get constant (-) and let the (+) pulse trigger it?

Has anyone successfully driven a Volvo Tach with this?
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 04:37 PM   #224
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

K...I was wrong.

I have a proper (-) tach signal...but it's only 2v....

My 245 with stock ignition has 10v for a tach signal....seems the issue is signal strength.

Is this how all J702T tach outputs are, or is mine broken?

I suppose I could drive a ignition amplifier but that seem excessive.

Someone must have crossed this bridge before me.
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 07:18 PM   #225
Mylesofsmyles
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosbySweater View Post
I used the miata amp in my car and it worked just fine on the stock tac. If I remember correctly there is a pullup wire you may have to splice in as well to get your particular tach working properly. I'm gonna go look at my notes from when I ran mine
I attempted a 10k resistor, pull-up wire...didn't get the tach firing.
Mylesofsmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.