home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > projects & restorations

Old 09-22-2010, 02:43 AM   #1
240 JAH
Savethevolvos.com

Default 1967 122s Restoration

CLICK HERE TO SEE PHOTOS OF THE PROJECT

To start I bought this car in early 2007 for something like $998 on ebay. It sat at my parents until 2009 then sat at knoxmotorsports until May of 2010, Lawrence did a full check out of the car for me and was hanging out to it until I decided what route to go on the restoration.

I bought a house in April 2010 with a large Garage, so the 122 got a nice home in the garage now .

The car does have a bit of rust but nothing major. I just need to weld up a few things like front floor pans. Not a big deal though, considering I have been a sheet metal mechanic/welder for quite a few years now.

I still don't know exactly where I am going to end up with the car but for starters I am pulling the car apart and fixing everything on it. I want to keep the b18 in it running well but Lawrence @ knoxmotorsports is going to help me build a s40 1.8t motor to put in it. I might end up restoring this one and buying another 122 body and then putting the s40 in that, but like I said I am not 100% sure where this 122 will end up.

When I bought the car it came with two truck beds full of parts, including two brand new fenders, brand new volvo emblems, brand new seat supports. It also came with many multiple parts one of which I used to rebuild for a refurbished hydraulic clutch set up. I have actually done a good bit of work to the car prior to this thread, on the SU carbs and on the hydraulic clutch system.

I wanted to post a bit more history of the car:
sale-wy6md-1964722069@craigslist.org...craigslist.org is an awesome resource that allowed me to research the specifics on the car.

Type
1=Sedan
3=two door body
2=B16 or B18D (this model came with a B18D)
4=Export (USA & CANADA)
4=M40 or M40G (not too sure which exact M40 I have on it right now)