home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 12:13 AM   #1
ltrail
Board Member
 
ltrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: mesa
Default lh2.2 tuning or chips???

So ive asked around and tlao is not seeing enough intrest in 2.2 and fred is no more here?
I want something more, id like to chip my 541 and ezk if i can and or reflash them i guess. I read some ignition mods from stonisworld i think about connecting pins 18,19,&20 in different sequences will increase or retard timing at part load? Last resort i think. I read about making the ezk chippable also, but i find no resources for purchasing such a kit.


Thanks!
ltrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 02:53 AM   #2
Roy 940
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Under the hood...
Default

Try BSR Tuning.se, they are one chip for LH2.2, if I remember right...
__________________
project Blue is Better

http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=247082
Roy 940 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:59 PM   #3
ltrail
Board Member
 
ltrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: mesa
Default

i cheched them out and sent inquiry. About $215 for stage 1 good for 240hp. seems people here re making that without chips. read sme about them on other forums and most seem skeptical, didnt find anyone with the chip installed.
ltrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:30 AM   #4
Roy 940
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Under the hood...
Default

In my car, with my butt dyno, the BSR chip is really powerfull... They say +55hp in a stock B230FT, except the boost pressure increased to 0.95bar.
Roy 940 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:57 AM   #5
pwaes
Board Member
 
pwaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Zeg ik niet
Default if i'm correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by ltrail View Post
i cheched them out and sent inquiry. About $215 for stage 1 good for 240hp. seems people here re making that without chips. read sme about them on other forums and most seem skeptical, didnt find anyone with the chip installed.
bsr doesn't provide lh2.2 chips, only motronic 1.1 for b230et and ft. Try hi-tuning.com, i'm in the proces of buying one of their chips. A quote from this thread by frpe82 (Fred)

______
BSR can´t provide a chip (at least not send one out) for LH2.2. The chip you are talking about is for the Motronic ML1.1 cars with the B230FT and B230ET. ECU numbers ending with 012, 022 and 026. That chip will give 240HP (or at least they advertise it) with the right setup.
______

So since your ecu is ...541, you need to get out your soldering machine or buy a 591 ecu as i did..
pwaes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:32 AM   #6
ltrail
Board Member
 
ltrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: mesa
Default

I would have no problem soldering my own googies. Avilability is my current issue. Id like the EZk chipped too, which would require some work, but still I find no resource for purchase.
ltrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 05:53 PM   #7
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

I have a lh2.2 turbo fuel chip. It provides more fuel so you can run more boost for more power. Now the hard part is finding a chippable Fuel computer. Otherwise you have to add the socket and resistors and the switching chip and a couple caps and jumpers to the ECU board. Now for the lh2.2 turbo EZK you need the older non Motorola EZK. It's a 012 ezk that has two boards in it, not the motorola 012 that is just one board. For tuning and chipping the 012 EZK you need a chip programmer that does 40 pin chips like the new 100 dollar wilhem you can buy on ebay. There is a thread here where I posted pics of the ezk that is chippable. The ezk chip is also the CPU on the 012 that also has some memory and that is what you reprogram. So you'll need to buy blank chips of course.

Simon
__________________
1988 245 White slicktop M47 Wagon! 2.5L NA 8v going in.
1990 745 B230FT Getrag JohnV flywheel 240mm clutch 13c A-cam 3.54 G80 548K MILES
1991 740SE B230FT NPR Strut braces IPD bar A cam 550cc EV14's. 3.73 G80 M90 to put in.
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:44 PM   #8
Wagoneer855
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Default

Sorry for the thread-jack, but I'm going to be running an iPd turbo cam and just a stock T3 at a mild 10psi with 3" exhaust, any need for chipping at that boost level? I always run 94 octane, I would assume not.
__________________
'89 744ti M46 - MINE
'90 764ti - brother's
'91 245 - brother's
'93 964 - brother's
'96 854 T5 - father's
'97 855 LPT -> HPT M56H - MINE
'97 854R - girlfriend's
'03 XC70 2.5T - mother's
'04 XC90 T6 - father's
Wagoneer855 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:48 PM   #9
ltrail
Board Member
 
ltrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: mesa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
I have a lh2.2 turbo fuel chip. It provides more fuel so you can run more boost for more power. Now the hard part is finding a chippable Fuel computer. Otherwise you have to add the socket and resistors and the switching chip and a couple caps and jumpers to the ECU board. Now for the lh2.2 turbo EZK you need the older non Motorola EZK. It's a 012 ezk that has two boards in it, not the motorola 012 that is just one board. For tuning and chipping the 012 EZK you need a chip programmer that does 40 pin chips like the new 100 dollar wilhem you can buy on ebay. There is a thread here where I posted pics of the ezk that is chippable. The ezk chip is also the CPU on the 012 that also has some memory and that is what you reprogram. So you'll need to buy blank chips of course.

Simon

Is this 2.2 chip you speak of for sale? Ill double check my ezk tomorrow to see if it one or two boards. And even at 100 off ebay this still means i need someone to assist in the programming. Bueller...Bueller...anyone?
ltrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:48 AM   #10
DNAsEqUeNcE
†John3:16
 
DNAsEqUeNcE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HTX
Default

megasquirt dude! don't even mess with the stock stuff!
__________________
DNAsEqUeNcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:19 AM   #11
ltrail
Board Member
 
ltrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: mesa
Default

Thinkiing so. I wanted to wait a while. I guess its gonna be the ticket!
ltrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:47 AM   #12
m46destroyer
Just that good
 
m46destroyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ramona, Bro-Cal
Default

Stock LH2.4 > chipped LH2.2
__________________
82 244GLT 250k
1979 Impala
90 E350 4x4 D60's 35"'s Turbo7.3IDI E4OD
m46destroyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:00 PM   #13
SquareD
An Anomaly
 
SquareD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The STL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wagoneer855 View Post
Sorry for the thread-jack, but I'm going to be running an iPd turbo cam and just a stock T3 at a mild 10psi with 3" exhaust, any need for chipping at that boost level? I always run 94 octane, I would assume not.
Fueling shouldn't be an issue at 10psi on a stock turbo. At 15psi on a t3/t4 running 93 plus Lucas octane booster, I'm at the ragged edge of the stock fuel system. A chip would no doubt help overall power and drivability though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m46destroyer View Post
Stock LH2.4 > chipped LH2.2
Installing a custom EMS>taking the time to "swap" LH2.2 to LH2.4...
__________________
1994 945ti | 15g @ 14psi, Turbosmart EBC, AEM Failsafe WB, 3"/2.5" exhaust, do88 intercooler, iPd cam, STS cam gear, Ostrich LH tune, sbabbs EZK chip, green giants, K&N, Yoshifab CCV/Can/Cap, iPd SS brake lines, TME, Eibach, BNE, Koni suspension, iPd sways, iPd panhard, Cherry Turbos upper/lower braces, forged BBS RG-Rs, Michelin Pilot SS, ecodes, V90 bits.
1985 744ti | 13.8 @ 100.5 mph - Sold after 20 years.
SquareD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:22 PM   #14
pwaes
Board Member
 
pwaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Zeg ik niet
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNAsEqUeNcE View Post
megasquirt dude! don't even mess with the stock stuff!
how about $$$ haha, and switching a chip isn't the same imo as creating a complete wiring harnass for MS and start your own tuning..

although my plans for the far future include MS
pwaes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:45 PM   #15
Swiftfingers
Board Member
 
Swiftfingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton, Florida
Default

I have interest in this. must have chip.
Swiftfingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:52 PM   #16
JW240
All idiot, no savant
 
JW240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNAsEqUeNcE View Post
megasquirt dude! don't even mess with the stock stuff!
if the stock stuff cuts it, why spend money on MS? I agree that LH 2.2 isnt the greatest system though and has limited (diy) tuning options. More directed at ditching LH 2.4.
__________________
240 | 1991 | 332 KKm | B230F+T | Cosworth T3 60/63 | M90 | TrueTrack
Husaberg FE450 '12 supermoto swapped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood Chair View Post
Don't forget about properly seasoning it on HF jackstands for a couple years whilst dreaming about big powah 'goals'.

Last edited by JW240; 01-19-2011 at 01:58 PM..
JW240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 02:18 PM   #17
B-dub
OG
 
B-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: PNW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DNAsEqUeNcE View Post
megasquirt dude! don't even mess with the stock stuff!
But, if you are in a race class that doesn't allow any stand alone ecu's, and you have to tune the stock ecu you'll need options like this.

Otherwise, if you are looking to "chip" your RWD volvo for more powah before doing the mods that get you dirty, these cars aren't for you. Just accept the fact that if you own a Volvo and you want power you're going to get greasy, bloody, shed some tears, and go broke while you think you are making a cheap fast car.

LOL. I love these things. *cough* kill *cough* Loooooove these cars.

I will say I've heard good things about Simons chips, even if he thinks he is going to beat me in the 1/4mile.

If you are going to chip your 2.2 send Simon a PM and get 'er done.
__________________
"Sometimes nothin' is one cool hand"

242: Stage X It's a process.

RSI-online sales!
B-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 03:01 PM   #18
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

LH2.4 is easy to tune, so long as you have a chippable EZK and are willing to play with it a bit.

0. Get a wideband
1. Buy this (moates.net ostrich)
2. Download this (TunerPro RT)
3. Download bins and defs for your ECU version
4. Install Ostrich, connect USB, select correct bin/xdf for your ECU and start tuning

Some of the XDFs aren't quite polished yet; and I am currently awaiting the next version of this awesome program.

The only thing lacking right now is datalogging of engine parameters for offline tuning. If you have one of the newer 14point7 kits this may not be an issue as I believe they can datalog RPM, CLT, IAT, etc. I like my LC1 but wish I'd bough one of those. I think ideally you would log RPM, CLT, WB02 and MAF voltage. Probably should monitor MAP as well.

I've been playing with it on my car and it's seems pretty capable. All I really need now is someone to ride shotgun so I don't kill mysef.

I don't claim credit to any of this by the way; I've just been lurking over at ECUProject.

Alternately, if you don't want to mess with any of this crap (and have LH2.4), get a chip from TLOA. They rock.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 03:10 PM   #19
JW240
All idiot, no savant
 
JW240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
LH2.4 is easy to tune, so long as you have a chippable EZK and are willing to play with it a bit.

0. Get a wideband
1. Buy this (moates.net ostrich)
2. Download this (TunerPro RT)
3. Download bins and defs for your ECU version
4. Install Ostrich, connect USB, select correct bin/xdf for your ECU and start tuning

Some of the XDFs aren't quite polished yet; and I am currently awaiting the next version of this awesome program.

The only thing lacking right now is datalogging of engine parameters for offline tuning. If you have one of the newer 14point7 kits this may not be an issue as I believe they can datalog RPM, CLT, IAT, etc. I like my LC1 but wish I'd bough one of those. I think ideally you would log RPM, CLT, WB02 and MAF voltage. Probably should monitor MAP as well.

I've been playing with it on my car and it's seems pretty capable. All I really need now is someone to ride shotgun so I don't kill mysef.

I don't claim credit to any of this by the way; I've just been lurking over at ECUProject.

Alternately, if you don't want to mess with any of this crap (and have LH2.4), get a chip from TLOA. They rock.
yeah, this is an awesome development. With help of Ipdown, Blabla and ecuproject members I managed to get my car running better and better. afr right where i want it, this stuff works. I'm very curious about Ipdowns new software.
Dont forget winOLS, also a great program and it shows you what is different between bins for example.
JW240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:16 PM   #20
ltrail
Board Member
 
ltrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: mesa
Default

I just swapped lh2.2!!!!!! The supposed lh2.0(or 2.1 as im lead to believe i had from some odd half year changes) was poo. 2.2 swapping was the easy alternative. cost me $300 for all my +t, 2.2, ezk swappage. Didnt think i could beat that. Still, may sit on what it is and weigh the options rom now till.......i build an engine that needs power/requires this black magic??
ltrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:29 PM   #21
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JW240 View Post
Dont forget winOLS
I've been using Hex Workshop; it has a fairly versatile compare. Never heard of WinOLS, and downloading right now. Thanks!

ltrail, I don't know how difficult it would be to go from 2.2 -> 2.4, but if you have already done a 2.0 -> 2.2 it may be worth looking into 2.4.

If you do go LH2.4, get a 9xx series ECU. They have twice the CPU speed and just seem more reliable (I have two dead 56x series at home; both spontaneously quit for no reason, ugh)

I'm sure someone has documented a 2.2 -> 2.4 swap; how involved is it?
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:03 PM   #22
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
I've been using Hex Workshop; it has a fairly versatile compare. Never heard of WinOLS, and downloading right now. Thanks!

ltrail, I don't know how difficult it would be to go from 2.2 -> 2.4, but if you have already done a 2.0 -> 2.2 it may be worth looking into 2.4.

If you do go LH2.4, get a 9xx series ECU. They have twice the CPU speed and just seem more reliable (I have two dead 56x series at home; both spontaneously quit for no reason, ugh)

I'm sure someone has documented a 2.2 -> 2.4 swap; how involved is it?
The 56x series ECUs supposedly have a newer version that doesn't die spontaneously, I think they're the white label ones? My pink label hasn't given me any problem, but currently I'm back on my car's original 951 ECU with a bin modified by myself(with tweaks based off of other tunes provided to me by JR and Blabla) using Ipdown's software.

SWEETNESS! I can definitely not wait for the next version of his software. I still need to get an Ostrich 2.0 too, so I can see exactly where I am on the maps. A friend to ride along is definitely also needed.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:54 PM   #23
2fast4u
Board Member
 
2fast4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Acushnet, Massachusetts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
LH2.4 is easy to tune, so long as you have a chippable EZK and are willing to play with it a bit.

0. Get a wideband
1. Buy this (moates.net ostrich)
2. Download this (TunerPro RT)
3. Download bins and defs for your ECU version
4. Install Ostrich, connect USB, select correct bin/xdf for your ECU and start tuning

Some of the XDFs aren't quite polished yet; and I am currently awaiting the next version of this awesome program.

The only thing lacking right now is datalogging of engine parameters for offline tuning. If you have one of the newer 14point7 kits this may not be an issue as I believe they can datalog RPM, CLT, IAT, etc. I like my LC1 but wish I'd bough one of those. I think ideally you would log RPM, CLT, WB02 and MAF voltage. Probably should monitor MAP as well.

I've been playing with it on my car and it's seems pretty capable. All I really need now is someone to ride shotgun so I don't kill mysef.

I don't claim credit to any of this by the way; I've just been lurking over at ECUProject.

Alternately, if you don't want to mess with any of this crap (and have LH2.4), get a chip from TLOA. They rock.
really this easy? Because cody and I were just talking about this. does the ostrich have to stay plugged in at all times? even after remapping?
__________________
1993 940T
2005 RSX Type S

Quote:
Originally Posted by badvlvo View Post
Sounds like you are afraid of the horse cock Kenny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
I will freely admit that yes, yes I am. and I'm not ashamed of that fact.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBill View Post
im skeptical... i hope this isnt your last post. famous last words, rite? "anyone JB welded this?"
2fast4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:01 PM   #24
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

You use the Ostrich to come up with your tune, then burn it to a chip once you're happy with it and put the chip in the Ostrich's place. That being said, it takes a while for LH to learn all the way on most setups, so how something is right out of the box with a tune may not be the same as it will be after a few tanks of gas. We'll see what this newest software brings to the table in showing what the car will try to tune to, from those main original maps. While using the Ostrich you can trace where in the map the car is at all times. How many maps you're able to track it on, I don't know, but the future is coming and I know you can already trace it on the main fuel map...

Another capability though is the ability to turn Lambda correction off, so it'll just run off the main maps.

Basically, super cool stuff is on the way, with some of it already available to people.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:15 PM   #25
2fast4u
Board Member
 
2fast4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Acushnet, Massachusetts
Default

you can use the ostrich to play with both fuel and spark? Would you use ostrich to tune your fuel map, then switch it over to the ezk to tune spark as we have separate computers for each?
2fast4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.