home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2002, 04:14 AM   #1
Volvo4Life
Board Member
 
Volvo4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Midwest - Ohio
Default

okay, ive read about a million threads in relation to the addon AMP bundled with the 760 Premium upgrade that powers the 4 speakers, my problem being i have no power to them :( my two dash speakers work but i believe they're wired through the radio ? correct me if im wrong, now the speakers do kick on every once in a while, "this is very rare, and only for about 3 seconds" this leads me to believe it may be a loose ground on the amp ? but im not really sure, i've tried removing the amp by unscrewing the two mounting screws but their isn't much room underneath the steering colum and can't really figure out how to pull it out, is their anyway i can bypass the amp say if i was going to install an aftermarket stereo ? thanks for your input, any is appreciated, hopefully i can have good sound soon
Volvo4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2002, 09:47 AM   #2
Steve C
Board Member
 
Steve C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 9 Shetland St
Default

I have a similar problem. My four speakers cut-out intermittently. When the four speakers quit it takes exactly 10 seconds for them to start working again. I can create the same speaker cut-out by unpluging the multi-pin connector in the back of the radio (the cable going to the amp) and then pluging it back in, it takes 10 seconds before the speakers start working. If any body has any answers I am very interested in fixing this annoying problem
__________________
93 940 Turbo, MBC, 3" exhaust, cut fronts, more to do...
Steve C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2002, 11:13 PM   #3
Jagman_1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Default

Alright if they are kicking on for like 3 seconds then going off that means theirs a faulty ground on the amp. Volvos with the upper dash mounted stereo also had a stock amplifier lower in the dash in front of the gearshift behind the heating and ac controls, you can get to the wiring by dismanterling the side panel next to were yer right leg sits while driving. Basibly find a 12 gauge black wire comming off of a large matealic box with some heat sink fins on it. make sure that wire has good ground back the the chassis that should fix it. i had the same problem with my '93 240 and that fixed it. Though in the end i just opted to bypass the amp and put in a new stereo. hope that helps
__________________
1993 Volvo 240 Sedan (244 Classic)
-SunPro Supertac
-Remote control system for all lighting
-Pilot Driving Lights
-Xenon Blue Headlights
-S&B Racing Intake System
-Sony Active Black Head Unit
-Memphis Audio Componet System
-2 Pioneer IMPP 450watt 12" subs w/ Sony 760w amp
-Bosch Platnum Plugs & Solid core wires
-Michelin X-One Tires

Picture at http://www.iserv.net/~rlwilson/volvo_med.JPG
Jagman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2002, 11:17 PM   #4
Jagman_1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Default

yeah its very easy to get an aftermarket put in, though they dont make an aftermarket wiring kit for it so it has to be hard wired, this is one thing i would not suggest doing yourself, i used to be a professional car audio installer and it took me almot 2 and a half hours to bypass it due to the fact that you have to solder up a new harness. my solution take it to circuit city or best by, it will cost 40 bucks to have a new stereo put in but its worth not having the headach, but if you really wanna have a go at it i have a wiring diagram that will show you how that id be happy to email you
Jagman_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 04:06 AM   #5
Kjets On a Plane
Devoid of Luxury
 
Kjets On a Plane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PDX
Default

I have the amp business, and when I turn on the radio I hear a loud scratch sound mostly on the right side of the car. When I turn up the volume there is a slight fuzzy sound, could the volume knob just be bad? The stereo is otherwise clear as a bell.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianpike View Post
Sounds like your solder-fu is weak, much like my crimp-shwartz.
Kjets On a Plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 04:23 AM   #6
Volvo4Life
Board Member
 
Volvo4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Midwest - Ohio
Default

could be corroding wire between the speaker and the amp, i've read all about this in old brickboard posts and would post a link but im lazy.. i thought that was my problem at first but the radio is clear when it cuts in for me
Volvo4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2002, 11:27 AM   #7
MikeHardy
The Sirius/Nova Police
 
MikeHardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: northern Wales, UK
Default

it looks like it's would be easier to take the amp out through the instrument cluster space

mike
MikeHardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:35 AM   #8
Steve C
Board Member
 
Steve C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 9 Shetland St
Default

Finally went under the dash and pulled the amp to check it out. Nothing seemed amiss so opened it up for a look. When reinstalling I unplugged and plugged the connectors about ten times to renew the contacts and the thing has worked absolutely flawlessly for two days now. I guess 14 years of oxidization was causing less that perfect contacts.

Maybe if I unplug and plug the connector for my ECU I can find that extra free 20 hp I've been looking for.

On a more serious note, we talk about checking all ground connections and frequently change parts to try to fix intermittent problems. I would suggest that it might be worth the time taken to check all connectors related to components that we suspect may be causing an intermittent problem
Steve C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 03:14 AM   #9
DUGBRU
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: White Rock, BC
Default have a similar problem

Hi 1st post here, just joined.

I have just purchased a 1990 760gle. I want to install an aftermarket (JVC) am/fm CD player. I have been told i MUST bypass the amp and as there are only wires for 4 speakers in the cd player i need to do something with capacitors to split the front speakers if i want to have both front door and dash speakers work. Can any one help?? can i get a harness to bypass the amp??
DUGBRU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:14 AM   #10
Three Fat Tigers
Board Member
 
Three Fat Tigers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ↓ Lynchburg, VA →| '89 740Ti | '90 760Ti | '92 240 | '94 940T | '96 960 | '96 M1
Default

As it is your door speakers are plugged into the amp under the dash, you'd have to unplug that and splice in some wires to extend the speaker wires up to the head unit. As for the dash speakers, on my '760 I just left them disconnected for now, I plan later on to adapt the factory amp to run them.
__________________
Three Fat Tigers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:16 AM   #11
Three Fat Tigers
Board Member
 
Three Fat Tigers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ↓ Lynchburg, VA →| '89 740Ti | '90 760Ti | '92 240 | '94 940T | '96 960 | '96 M1
Default

Another thread worth looking at:
http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=19822
Three Fat Tigers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2005, 11:17 PM   #12
papasparr
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Question 760 radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUGBRU
Hi 1st post here, just joined.

I have just purchased a 1990 760gle. I want to install an aftermarket (JVC) am/fm CD player. I have been told i MUST bypass the amp and as there are only wires for 4 speakers in the cd player i need to do something with capacitors to split the front speakers if i want to have both front door and dash speakers work. Can any one help?? can i get a harness to bypass the amp??

I just got a used 760 radio for one that was ripped out of our dash. Cut all wires. Now I need a wiring diagram to put the mess back together again. Any help out there???
Papasparr
cpi@sdccu.net
papasparr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 12:21 PM   #13
240sleeper
Board Member
 
240sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: detroit, mi
Default radio wiring

i just finished wiring my 960 about a week or two ago. all you have to do is cut the wires at the amp connection. run about two to three feet of extension from those so you can get them to where the cd player is. you also have to cut the two dash speakers, the power and the ground and the ign. wires to run to the aftermarket cd player. to get the dash speakers to work all you have to do is run your RF and R dash to the RF output on the cd player. same on the left side. thats what i did and it works great. this web site helped me with figuring out what speakers were for what doors even though they didnt have my specific application http://www.installdr.com/ good luck
240sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 01:38 PM   #14
Cornercase
Formerly ladeadhead
 
Cornercase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Default

If you are thinking that you are going to use an aftermarket stereo anyway, just do that. The install is not that difficult. Just get those little crimp caps and do the install yourself. It's not as bad as some make it out to be. There is no reason to waste your time diagnosing the intermittent speaker problem if you are changing over to an aftermarket head unit in the future anyway.

Eamon
__________________
2004 Subaru WRX. I'd really like to get myself into a 240 wagon one of these days.

My site
Cornercase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2005, 01:45 PM   #15
DNA
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 240sleeper
i just finished wiring my 960 about a week or two ago. all you have to do is cut the wires at the amp connection. run about two to three feet of extension from those so you can get them to where the cd player is. you also have to cut the two dash speakers, the power and the ground and the ign. wires to run to the aftermarket cd player. to get the dash speakers to work all you have to do is run your RF and R dash to the RF output on the cd player. same on the left side. thats what i did and it works great. http://www.installdr.com/ good luck
i second this install process i installed everything imaginable in cars for about 7 yrs and thats what i would have done.
__________________
FIRST VOLVOS I EVER OWNED 85 740T WAGON AND MY WIFES 88 740 WAGON BOTH JUST BOUGHT IN FEB OF '05
DNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 11:43 AM   #16
Unregistered
Guest
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagman_1 View Post
yeah its very easy to get an aftermarket put in, though they dont make an aftermarket wiring kit for it so it has to be hard wired, this is one thing i would not suggest doing yourself, i used to be a professional car audio installer and it took me almot 2 and a half hours to bypass it due to the fact that you have to solder up a new harness. my solution take it to circuit city or best by, it will cost 40 bucks to have a new stereo put in but its worth not having the headach, but if you really wanna have a go at it i have a wiring diagram that will show you how that id be happy to email you
Please man could send me the wiring diagram in oder to install a new cdplayer in my 1990 volvo gle estate. I am having problems to understand the wiring system. Would be great if you could send by email for me. glaucotulio71@hotmail.com
Thanks
Glauco
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 08:48 PM   #17
WheyDey
i fought the lawn
 
WheyDey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Long Island New Yorks
Default




trust me, it's easier.
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/JasonTomlins/Funny%20Pictures/1200267225490.gif
WheyDey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 12:47 AM   #18
blarf
Board Member
 
blarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: disabled account land
Default

The 760/960 amp is under the dash kinda behind the headlight switch. If you want better and/or louder sound, what I would do is keep the stock 760 radio (has a much nicer tuner than the SC-810/811 IMO) and just get a new AMP. If you want a CD player, go for one of the CD equipped SC radios (altho the SC-810/811 can control a spendy Alpine/Volvo CD changer).
__________________


Manuals moved here: http://gaz.inferiorhumanorgans.com/greenbook/
blarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 02:16 AM   #19
volvorod85
Board Member
 
volvorod85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sunny Socal
Default

FYI I had odd speaker cutting out issues with the same setup, ended up being cold solder joints in the amp itself...after a very close inspection and an attack with the soldering iron the problems went away. Then shortly after I used the grenade effect, and ripped it all out for 2 amps, new head unit, 12" sub, 4 new speaks and all new wiring.
Mark
__________________
1995 855 Turbo Stock <--Daily Driver
2003 Veedub Passat 1.8T <--Wifey's new ride
1959 Austin Healey Sprite <--something completely different (my project)
1974 Fiat X1/9 <--Mom's little toy (next project)
1982 Olds Custom Cruiser LQ4 <--Dad's beast (current project)

"Driving the old 2 valve 740 is a bit like driving an IKEA wall unit, so leisurely is its acceleration, so angular its lines."

My former brick saved my life 6/25/03....Volvo for Life
New pic comin eventually.......
volvorod85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:50 AM   #20
Leon123
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default

keep it up man very well post. i wish you Good Luck for your better Future
Leon123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:03 PM   #21
lummert
Board Member
 
lummert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland IN
Default 1990 Volvo 760 Radio Problems

I could not even see the amplifier on my 88 760 Turbo wagon before removing the knee bolster. The knee bolster is held on with two bolts and two nuts, all requiring a 10mm 1/4 inch drive socket, a long extension, and a 1/4 inch drive ratchet. It is easier to work on the amplifier on an 88-90 760 if the knee bolster is removed. The 940se and 92-94 960 is the same.
__________________
Trying to understand stupid people is like trying to pick up a turd by the clean end.
lummert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 01:00 PM   #22
tkwagon
Board Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Surrey, British Columbia
Default 760 Radio Problems

As many have said, long term solution is to replace the head unit and amp with an aftermarket unit. You are dealing with 20+ year end electrical components which are eventually going to wear out, and break down. Unless you require absolute authenticity, save yoruself many headaches and replace the headunit and amp with a new aftermarket unit. You may need to hardwire the unit, but in the long run you will have more options, IPOD/MP3 connections and CD player.
tkwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:35 AM   #23
jamesnishimuta
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default trying to swap 1989 760 turbo radio to 1990 740gle

I have a 1990 volvo gle 740. Radio has no eq. lOTTA VOLVOS IN THE JUNKYARDS HERE IN LA SO I got a nice radio/amp from a 1989 760 turbo and then discovered that this radio needs the in-dash amp to feed any volume to my front door speakers. I like this radio a lot. Suggestions please?
jamesnishimuta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.