Turbobricks Forums

Turbobricks Forums (https://forums.turbobricks.com/index.php)
-   the vault (https://forums.turbobricks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Electric Fan Conversion (https://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=1572)

740ATL 05-29-2008 05:21 AM

I know why! :)

davidmacq 05-29-2008 07:27 AM

Fan clutch sucks up your whorsepowers

mo5005 05-29-2008 08:41 PM

Should i be worried about my battery draining if i wired the E-fan straight to my battery?

totaled108 05-29-2008 09:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mo5005 (Post 1812016)
Should i be worried about my battery draining if i wired the E-fan straight to my battery?

No worries, just use the proper wiring, fuse and relay.

Eveyone seems to have there own way of mounting the thermoswitch though. When I used the Saab hose T, the fan stayed on for over a minute after the car was turned off. Mine is in the radiator and never stays on for more then 15 seconds after the car is shut down, even on HOT days. This is all worked out by the switches set temps. The one that came in the Saab T would have switched on at 115C (239F) and off at, i think 110C (230F). Thats far to hot.

mo5005 05-31-2008 05:17 PM

I keep blowing my 30A fuse?!?!!!! Why is this my wiring is correct and the fan works perfectly with the fuse running!

mo5005 05-31-2008 05:18 PM

My car keeps blowing the 30A fuse! (in line with the relay) Why is this!? Should i use a higher amp fuse? Or should i just not fuse it at all? HELP its SUMMER! if this **** blows during a hot day i'm gonna be screwed!

tryingbe 05-31-2008 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mo5005 (Post 1814961)
I keep blowing my 30A fuse?!?!!!! Why is this my wiring is correct and the fan works perfectly with the fuse running!

Use a Maxi 30 amp fuse. Regular 30 amp fuse can't handle the heat.

http://www.bcae1.com/images/jpegs/fusemaxi.jpg

totaled108 05-31-2008 10:46 PM

Go over the wring again, and make sure there are no bare wiring that can short out. I havn't had to diagnose blowing fuses with mine, so thats all I can think of.

mo5005 06-01-2008 02:14 AM

I used the MAXI fuse... thing still blows?! So wierd!?!! Any other suggestions?

mo5005 06-01-2008 10:47 AM

should i wire it between the positive terminal to the relay?

or

should i wire it between ground to the relay?

totaled108 06-01-2008 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mo5005 (Post 1815773)
should i wire it between the positive terminal to the relay?

or

should i wire it between ground to the relay?

Yes. Where is it placed now? I have a cheap $3 in-line fuse, placed between the + and relay, and have had no such issue.

mo5005 06-01-2008 02:42 PM

between the + and the relay. im starting to loose hope..... i think im just gonna wire it straight through (no relay)

totaled108 06-01-2008 07:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mo5005 (Post 1816014)
between the + and the relay. im starting to loose hope..... i think im just gonna wire it straight through (no relay)

Could you take a picture of all the wiring/connectors?* What fan are you using?

I don't understand how some of these settups work with out issue, and others, settup the same way, do.

If you don't use a relay, you will go through many switches by burning them out. Blowing fuses is a sign that somthing is not settup right. Or a wire is grounding when it shouldn't.

Midgie245R 06-01-2008 09:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjts1 (Post 1801409)
What temps the temp rating of your thermoswitch?

It's 92C on, 87C off.

Get the thermoswitch from the saab's radiator - top left corner, looking from the engine, and install it in the tube.

mullen1120 06-02-2008 11:37 PM

is it that much better to have the temp sensor in the rad hose, cant you get a sensor to fit in the rad in place of the old one? just bc it would look cleaner

totaled108 06-03-2008 06:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mullen1120 (Post 1818718)
is it that much better to have the temp sensor in the rad hose, cant you get a sensor to fit in the rad in place of the old one? just bc it would look cleaner

IMO, its not any better. Mine is in the rad and works great in 90f+ weather, driving it hard then, hitting down town in stop and go.

Linas 06-05-2008 06:20 PM

Does anyone have a wiring diagram for hooking up a later 960 fan with relay into an older 940?

1stRaven 06-06-2008 08:24 AM

If your blowing fuses (as I was) it might be because you are switching straight to high speed on a dual speed fan. When I fitted a 960 efan into my car (Which was not a drop in!), i blew three fuses straight off until I found out why. Rewired it to switch on the low speed and added another switch in to fire high speed. Haven't blow another fuse yet.

I will be attemping to control the efan via MS shortly so we'll have to see how that goes.

84B23F 06-08-2008 11:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mo5005 (Post 1812016)
Should i be worried about my battery draining if i wired the E-fan straight to my battery?

Mine is hooked directly to battery...I'm not worried:omg:

Unless your relay contacter got stuck closed, then you might worry....or if you have a weak battery, and fan runs a pinch after shutting off motor on a hot day, then you might worry.

On a 244, one might be able to use coil positive wire to snap close a relay to supply power to fan relay...but just another circuit to go kaput, down the road.

Steven Zagony 06-09-2008 12:30 PM

Try using a slo blo type fuse as opposed to the common fast acting type. Slo blo fuses have built in current limiting chokes or resistors that will absorb the current surge at the fan motor startup. They can be purchased from your local Radio Shack store.

lummert 06-21-2008 04:03 PM

Electric Fan Conversion
 
I once owned an 82 VW Quantum that had a two speed Temp switch screwed into the radiator. it had three wire connections.

lummert 06-21-2008 09:13 PM

Electric Fan Conversion
 
I did some reading about thermoswitch for cooling fan location. It goes in the right radiator end tank or the lower radiator hose.

Hope this clears up some of these cooling problems I have been reading on this forum.

lummert 06-21-2008 09:28 PM

Electric Fan Conversion
 
I also remember that I installed a radiator and fan from an 85 Audi 4000S in that VW Quantum. The fan housing had two fans with a single speed motor on one fan blade with a drive belt connecting to the second fan blade. It didn't need two speeds because it had two fan blades.

84B23F 06-21-2008 11:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by totaled108 (Post 1812123)
thermoswitch....Mine is in the radiator and never stays on for more then 15 seconds....

Yes....I have there one too....but I have no idea what application this came from....did yours come with vehicle????

I'm looking for model year(s) this radiator thermo-switch was in....can you get different temp set points for it?

totaled108 06-23-2008 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 84B23F (Post 1856458)
Yes....I have there one too....but I have no idea what application this came from....did yours come with vehicle????

I'm looking for model year(s) this radiator thermo-switch was in....can you get different temp set points for it?

The radiator was replced by the PO, and the only way to go was the 3 row rad. Which has the switch in it for the A/C pusher fan. I guess it has a cooler temp setting then most, which is actually good.

After all that, I have gone back to the stock clutch fan. I didn't really have any issues with the E-fan, I just like the fact that the clutch fan will ALWAYS be moving air over the motor. Also I installed a tranny cooler and want the air to be moving through it all the time. Also the temp gauge is FAR more steady with the stock settup. The noise of the clutch fan isn't as bad as I had thought it had been.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.