• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

1990 245 Auto running rich, 10mpg

turbobrick211

I have tried to avoid posting this question here for the last couple years because I really hoped I could solve the problem myself, seeing as I have been a professional Volvo mechanic for nearly 2 decades. But, I am fully stumped. The engine is mostly stock. It has an A cam installed, 2.5" exhaust system and that's about it. It runs extremely rich, so much that it makes my eyes burn to drive it more than 15 minutes or so. If I reset the ecu, the check engine light will usually come back on within 30-40 minutes of driving. It gives a code for coolant temp sensor, and engine running lean/rich. I have replaced temp sensor half a dozen times. I have swapped several known good AMM's, several known good ECU's and ICU's. I have eliminated the Temp sensor wiring, by completely bypassing the harness and running wires directly from the sensor to the ECU and ICU. I've replaced the O2 sensor. I have checked for vac leaks. I've checked the fpr. I've checked the resistance of the temp sensor at the computer, and it is within range. I am at a total loss.

The car runs pretty well, but I can tell that there is some power on the table because of how rich it's running. What am I missing here????

have you checked your fuel pressure? you may have a restriction in the return line back to the tank causing excessive fuel pressure and in turn creating an overly rich condition.

Have you tried different injectors?

Does it run ok in open loop? What does the O2 sensor voltage look like once everything is warmed up? Pegged at 0.9V?

Just a couple ideas:

- bad ECU grounds at the intake manifold or in the cabin.
-Poor oxygen sensor wiring
-loose terminal tension at the ECM or O2 sensor connector