• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Suspension upgrades on 89

skastel

I'm thinking about putting a set of turbo sway bars on my N/A '89 245. I'm new to Volvo performance, wondering if it's a worthwhile upgrade. Also I'm thinking about getting some aluminum wheels from a donor volvo if I can find one. Does anyone know which wheels I should be looking for, are they off the Turbo's? Also are they the 15"x6" ones?
Thanks a ton!

yep.

240 Turbo sways are 23mm front and 21mm rears... they are SUPERIOR to stock! I mean it wont be as far out best as the pricey Ipd's (25/23 or 25/25) but its a major improvement over stock... much more fun to drive!

now if you're looking for more suspension, then i'd reccomend to start with Bilsteins, the turbo sways, GT braces (firewall to tower and subframe to body) (either from a GT or from IPD...) or Cherry turbo's tower to tower and lower brace (same as Gt brace but better) and the upper GT brace... all that will improve your handling tremendously with little decrease in ride (from new stock, not worn out stock... worn out stock is alot more comfortable but lousy control!) if you want more... there's B+G lowering springs, poly bushings, yadda yadda...

but to me, turbo sways and bilstens and a brace or two will be great

turbo sways rock for their price (you will get them cheap right?)

as for turbo wheels, they're 15 inchers and are very good looking (better than yucky steels w/ broken hubcabs)... make sure you dont change the diameter of the tire too much... your speedo will be off!

Def going to be cheap. I'm looking to do the wheels, strut braces, sway bars, etc. for under $300, so these certainly won't be new parts. I would love to get some IPD parts, but alas $$$ is limited.