home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2015, 02:34 PM   #126
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Yeah, you told me, but I slept since then, and forgot. Do you have Details on how to do it please!!!!!!!! Please please!!!Lag wagon begs of you...
These new silverados ls 1/2/3 trucks around here pick on me at stoplights, then I feel embarrassed- that I pulled 3 cars on em as soon as I spooled and lifted(3800 spool up and lift at 4K coast another car length), but before that-they are right beside me-as if they are gonna win. I feel like i should apologize for showing off,lol. It's funny cause they are very froggy around here.

Not that I need launch control for that , but it would be great for the occasional serious drag race at the track.

Same here about wanting to put it on all my cars !! My 244 is definitely getting one with v8 swap. I must've tuned the haltech for 6 months straight to get it the way it is. The microsquirt tunes itself once you get the timing right, AND SET YOUR A/F TARGETS RIGHT,
****** THAT SELF ANALYZE TUNING IS THE DAMNED POOH SON!!!!*******************

I may have spent 3 full hours total tuning this car, setting parameters, asking Kenny what this meant, what that meant, the rest of the time I was driving and the car tuned itself.
No second person needed to tune, All on your own. How refreshing it is!
__________________
If you had the audacity , to doubt my veracity, and even to insinuate, that I scrupulously prevaricate ,such an insignificant question. Then you must hallucinate before you comprehend.

Last edited by haltechsupra; 03-19-2015 at 03:30 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 03:08 PM   #127
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default



Did anyone mention size? My old flip phone vs/ Microsquirt.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 04:23 PM   #128
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

diy says the board is about the size of a credit card
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 04:36 PM   #129
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haltechsupra View Post

Spark cut rev limiter-yes!


Is there a way to program an additional timing map and have it change back to normal timing map with release or push of a button? That's all I feel like I need, to get this thing really moving from a standstill.
what you can do is set a soft and hard limit for launch control and have it activated by a clutch switch and a launch active switch on the dash. Launch active>clutch in>gas pedal to the floor= timing retards under the soft limit to say 10*, revs continue to rise to the hard limit where spark cut happens, revs steady, boost builds, clutch out and BAM! back to regular timing map.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 04:38 PM   #130
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haltechsupra View Post
Is there a way to program an additional timing map and have it change back to normal timing map with release or push of a button? That's all I feel like I need, to get this thing really moving from a standstill.
Prolly is. Let us know what you find out.
BDKR is offline Report Post Reply With Quote


Go to boost /advanced window on tuner studio. Click on launch control, set up your settings, then wire your input(flex fuel, spare adc, and others) to a switch that connects to ground. Push button switch. Wish I had time to play with it today!! Thanks again Kenny, so patient with my ignorance. Much appreciated.
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 04:44 PM   #131
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

another thing is that with a simple active low circuit you can have "flat shift" which allows you to keep your throttle wide open and automatically lowers the engine speed to a desired point when the clutch is pressed. So you set it to be active above 3k with a "hold" at 4k, and whenever your launch control dash switch is on and the clutch is pressed it lowers the engine speed to 4k (I use the spark cut here also)... great for drags... pull up and stage, launch active, clutch in, throttle down, launch, and for each gear change you only have to bang the clutch pedal with the throttle 100% planted.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 04:49 PM   #132
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Again, its an automatic transmission in my wagon, but yes you are correct, your explanation makes sense for the settings. Cant wait to launch it!

Last edited by haltechsupra; 03-19-2015 at 04:55 PM..
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 05:31 PM   #133
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

its fun! I also use it in parking lots to scare people... thats fun too
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 06:47 PM   #134
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

I had the 940 building 15+psi on the brake at the line, without trying to push through the tires or melt the rears down (till I got off the brake). Haven't had quite as much luck with the hx-52 on the race car yet, I was going to use nitrous to spool it on the footbrake but that's kinda scary.
__________________
"They bum rushed them in their own crib, they drank all their beer, they partied with their ladies and they left with the trophy"

Now with in-house Dyno tuning!

Megasquirt Tuning!
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 08:02 PM   #135
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Thats AWESOME, Nitrous sketchy!
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 08:05 PM   #136
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

its not that it's sketchy, **** just happens really fast
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:41 AM   #137
SteveMD
Membro
 
SteveMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stop paddling, I hear banjos.
Default

The more I read about microsquirt such as in this thread, the more I like the idea of using it.
SteveMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:42 AM   #138
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
its not that it's sketchy, **** just happens really fast
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 02:38 PM   #139
haltechsupra
Board Member
 
haltechsupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Default

Are you pulling 10 degrees out cwdodson88? 16v or 8v?
haltechsupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 02:52 PM   #140
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haltechsupra View Post
Are you pulling 10 degrees out cwdodson88? 16v or 8v?
puchrod... 8v and my soft limit kicks it to 10* total, and at WOT the revs continue a tiny bit so I have a spark cut set just above my soft limit (which is where I launch from)
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 11:04 PM   #141
MadMax244
Board Member
 
MadMax244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: phoenix az
Default

How do I go about adding a boost controller to microsquirt? Just curious on this
__________________
84 244dl - b23f lh2.1 bone stock
84 245 - b230ft from 90 740 w/ aw71 (currently being worked on )
74 vw karmann ghia - 1.7l type4 ( on back burner for baja )


Boost the N/A
MadMax244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:42 AM   #142
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax244 View Post
How do I go about adding a boost controller to microsquirt? Just curious on this
well you can use the Fidle pin, or Aled, or Wled... to control one of these

Then hit up the msextra.com forum and they can help you figure out what settings to sort out.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 12:41 AM   #143
MadMax244
Board Member
 
MadMax244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: phoenix az
Default

Alright nice, does the tach output work with the volvo tach?
MadMax244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 10:15 AM   #144
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

with a little work, yes.
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 11:25 AM   #145
MadMax244
Board Member
 
MadMax244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: phoenix az
Default

Well how is it done? Cause would like to use my volvo tach
MadMax244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 12:28 PM   #146
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax244 View Post
Well how is it done? Cause would like to use my volvo tach
first of all. Read the manuals for your particular MS box, be it MS1, MS2, MS3, or micro...

the simple tach output is http://www.msextra.com/doc/ms1extra/...are_Manual.htm the high output is the one you want I think
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 01:29 PM   #147
MadMax244
Board Member
 
MadMax244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: phoenix az
Default

Microsquirt only had one tach out, from what my manual says
MadMax244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:08 PM   #148
Stiggy Pop
Board Member
 
Stiggy Pop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Granville, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax244 View Post
Microsquirt only had one tach out, from what my manual says
this is correct.

The megasquirt documentation sucks. I don't care what anyone says, it sucks. They leave outdated information floating around on websites that show today's date as last updated. It's difficult to search, and even more difficult to confirm you are looking at up-to-date literature. They should hire an outsource firm to handle their tech writing/version control and put the price into the units.. it would be worth it. Don't feel bad about having a hard time finding the information. I read every page of "the manual" (the latest manual? ****ed if I know but it had microsquirt v3 on the cover, as did several other slightly different manuals I found) and still had plenty of questions after.

I have my micro running but haven't gotten into the tach yet. I found this thread http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=231777

and it does sound like some have used this circuit
http://msextra.com/doc/ms1extra/MS_E...s/HiVTacho.GIF

that's what I'm planning on trying once I get about to making it work.
__________________
'79 242
943 pickup
Stiggy Pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:16 PM   #149
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMax244 View Post
Microsquirt only had one tach out, from what my manual says
My point is that the low voltage spike of that 1 tach output on your microsquirt will need a little help to drive a high voltage tachometer that would normally feed from the V- on the coil. In order to accomplish this you need to have that signal creates a high Voltage spike similar to the V- of the ignition coil. That is the need for building the circuit with the relay coil. You will need to do this in a separate enclosure.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 02:33 PM   #150
MadMax244
Board Member
 
MadMax244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: phoenix az
Default

My microsquirt manual doesn't say anything about doing that, just says can run an aftermarket tach
MadMax244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.