home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Old 08-03-2022, 05:39 PM   #1
abacaxi3000

Default How is the power steering pump mounted in a 240 with ac?

Hi folks,

greetings from Germany. i'm new at the turbobrick forum, because i need some help i can't get at my german forums, which i normally visit for technical help and discussions.

I have following problem, maybe some of you guys could help me:

I'm driving a 93 Volvo 245 since almost ten years. The german 240s are normally very weak equiped, so i installed several features during the time (electric rear mirrors, heatet seats, third brake light, tachometer, thermometer, etc.). I was happy, when i had the opportunity to dismantle the ac-components from a 92 Volvo 240, because i always wanted an ac in my car. I took all the parts for the interior, the wires, the compressor and the compressor console. But I didn't know back then, that the power steering pump has a slight different position on the ac-compressor console, so i didn't dismantle the power steering pump.
Due to several reasons, I have but now the time to install all the components in the engine bay. I knew already, that i needed other brackets for the pump, because the bolts are locatet different.

Now i'm coming to my problem. I'm not sure how the power steering pump is exactly mounted. Especially the tensioning mechanism (i don't know if it is the correct word - sorry). Where do i connect this part to the power steering pump. I detailled picture would be great. Or a exploded diagram. Didn't find anything and my german friends couldn't help me, because these projects are very rare.

I'm hoping that you guys habe more experience with 240s with an ac, because i think they were more common in the USA than in Europe.

I'm hoping that you understand my problem, sorry if there are any mistakes in grammer or vocabulary. My active spoken English is a little bit rusty .