home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > General > article composition

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2006, 09:28 PM   #26
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
So that one would be basically "new" condition clocked to RWD? Do you have DP's available yet?


2 series i can make and i plan on making a few 7/9 series in a weekend or two once i get some flanges in stock
__________________
Chip Feedback Thread / PM LH 2.4 Chip Prices
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 09:37 PM   #27
TrunKS850R
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oak Ridge, TN
Default

nice write up, you can do 18T's too right? what if i swapped you one of my 15gs for a 18T
TrunKS850R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 10:20 PM   #28
impulse922
Board Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: satx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrunKS850R View Post
nice write up, you can do 18T's too right? what if i swapped you one of my 15gs for a 18T
bad trade, 18Ts are $$$$
__________________
-Matt
'03 s60 T5M
impulse922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 10:22 PM   #29
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

i can do any fwd turbo you give me

and what do you mean swap? you give me a 15g for me giving you an 18t?
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:45 AM   #30
Super1800GTR
Board Member
 
Super1800GTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lanesville IN
Default

Pics not working :(
__________________
http://www.pbase.com/242ti/root
Super1800GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:56 AM   #31
burgandybrick
Board Member
 
burgandybrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: dfw. TX
Default

Here is my angled outlet 15g mounted to a 90+ using a 13c actuator:


No bracket required, is working great
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillazenby740t View Post
what the hell kinda car is that? Sounds like my lawnmower on bean burritos
burgandybrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 02:12 AM   #32
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super1800GTR View Post
Pics not working :(
fixed on new host


and the 13c WG is eh .... weak ... with the 3.5" DP @ 3500rpm the 15g actuator could not even hold 10psi as over that 3500 mark it would climb .... and more and more by 4500 i was @ 21+ psi

setup a nice heavy duty T3 actuator
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 01:00 PM   #33
kelley_aj
Board Member
 
kelley_aj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sac, CA
Default

Mike 2 questions. How many times do you reuse the nuts that hold the turbo to the mani before replacing them? 2nd where did you get those sweet snap ring pliers ? Mine are struggle lol!
__________________
1993 940 Bili HD, TME springs, IPD sways and adjustable panhard, ported 15g and mani, 3" turbo back + Magnaflow=mmmmgood, Mike's chips, IPD turbo cam, Dale's gear, browntops shoving 14psi, MSD ign.
kelley_aj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 01:17 PM   #34
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

turbo to manifold i would not trust more than 2 times .. tho yes i do use a set as downpipe nuts as they have a small flange which i need/like. otherwise they are about $12 each NEW from the dealer ... but to me worth it to never have to worry about those again

snap ring pliers were $10 for two 13" pliers from harbor freight

and wow thread is pinned ... time for me to get some more pics of setting one up just so there is more info as i will post some pics of the setup of mine as i clock the turbos i use on my car w/ the outlet facing straight up so it gives a bit more space for the plug wires (you can remove them w/o f'in with the hose ... plus i think from now on i will clock most like that just hope you do not have solid pipes)

Last edited by thelostartof; 02-12-2007 at 01:24 PM..
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 01:21 PM   #35
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

and do you happen to have pics of the welds you put on your manifold/turbine housing to fit that angled outlet on there?
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 02:52 PM   #36
fsl
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Norway
Default

How much hp improvement from a 13c?
fsl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 03:09 PM   #37
Lord Tentacle
Anime Lord
 
Lord Tentacle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, AUS/Appleton, WI
Default

[QUOTE=thelostartof;1083005] otherwise they are about $12 each NEW from the dealer ... but to me worth it to never have to worry about those again
QUOTE]

local volvo joint is charging me $6 each
however
FCP has them for $4.25 each
part number 977209
and the ones FCP has are from volvo (they just get a discount for buying in wholesale quantities)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by .:Sven:. View Post
Your not getting naked pics of my GF, and im getting a 3inch. Its settled
Tentacle Wagon-91 940; stuff including paddles and Holset etc... powered by Corn
Tentacle Sedan-08 S80 D5, Working 4C suspension, 40mpg and radar cruise....

recently crushed Volvo's
1990 244, 99 v70 t5, 98 v70 t5, 2002 s80 t6, 98 940s
Lord Tentacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 03:24 PM   #38
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

sweet prices must of went down then as last 4 i bought 3 years ago in socal were expensive
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 03:25 PM   #39
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsl View Post
How much hp improvement from a 13c?


night and day .... do a search and you will find a lot of peoples comments on thier upgrade from a 13c to 15g
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 04:39 PM   #40
SteveMD
Membro
 
SteveMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stop paddling, I hear banjos.
Default

Mike,

I have a conical 15G housing with a WG hole crack and a brand new flat housing. I hope the new one isn't made China. It came on another 15G I bought. Anyway, it's obvious even to me the flat flange housing flows more and I should hit you up for a matching down pipe. Going to be a few weeks before you get the flanges? (read that in another thread here). Going to finish my taxes tonight so I have the $$.
__________________
2013 XC60 T6
2006 330i
--------------
Quote:
Originally Posted by gottarollwithit View Post
I'm sure I can manage to get by w/o reverse, but it is a nice amenity.
SteveMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:16 PM   #41
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

should be soon for me to get the flanges in

otehrwise just run the conical setup for now and you can just swap to the flat later
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:36 PM   #42
maxman142001
I like turtles
 
maxman142001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Default

how much of a difference will it make to port the turbine housing on the 15g's? I know that porting the 90+ is almost a must....15g has a nice design on the housing already. any need to improve it??
__________________
as nothing is impossible with God, even turbo's fixing themselves

-2011 VW GTi
maxman142001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:53 PM   #43
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

very much so you want to even HAVe to port it .. makes a world of difference
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 11:10 PM   #44
PeteMagnum
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default

Anyone debating, Listen to this man He knows what he's talking about. And I'm in as soon as it gets a little warmer outside. I'm pretty much thinking about holding off on the Garrett GT until beg to mid summer. I've been wanting to try out the 15g on my setup so I'm going to run it for a little while until I switch to the Garrett. btw, Nice post. Very generous of you.
__________________
Damn it feels good to be a gangster.

Last edited by PeteMagnum; 02-12-2007 at 11:26 PM.. Reason: I can.
PeteMagnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 11:36 PM   #45
benflynn
bigpimpin740t@yahoo.com
 
benflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Birmingham Al
Default

bump for my own good
__________________
85 744 Turbo F+T big valved531, stg5 cam, msns, m47, sways, bills, 53mm t3/t4 9lb flywheel, dual 044s, 80lbs, npr og
benflynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 01:39 AM   #46
phillazenby740t
Snorting coca cola
 
phillazenby740t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Saudi Alberta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelostartof View Post
send me a holset i'll see if i can remove it
Theres one on the way mike!
phillazenby740t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:20 PM   #47
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

another WG bracket









thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 07:21 PM   #48
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

.
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 06:38 PM   #49
i dont know
Board Member
 
i dont know's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Default

So you just swap out the compressor housing?
__________________
1979 242 gt, 1983 242 turbo, 1987 745 tic,
i dont know is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 06:53 PM   #50
thelostartof
unbalanced chemical
 
thelostartof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Apache Junction, AZ
Default

swap?? no you do not have to swap anything .. you just rotate the housings
thelostartof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.