home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Old 08-19-2009, 08:16 PM   #1
BruceAlmighty

Default weird hesitation under load

hi everyone and thanks for checking out my thread. im actually not new to the site, as i was a member a few years ago, and owned several Volvo's myself. however, ive forgotten my screen name and password, so this one will have to do. lol

anyways, im a mechanic by trade. maybe not the best there is, but i can fix most problems. my parents have three Volvo's, one of which is a 92 240. they purchased this car about a year ago and is wasnt running right, so they asked me to take a look at it. i noticed that the timing was off and the belt looked rough. i made some recommendations to them and i got to work. after all was said and done, i had replaced the timing belt, plugs, wires, cap, rotor, thermostat, water pump, fuel filter, and air filter(if it seems like im rambling, im not. theres a reason im stating all of this).

after doing the work, the car has an incredibly weird hesitation. at idle, the car runs great, but under load, it acts as if its running out of fuel. it only does this to a certain rpm (my guess is about 2500), then the car regains full power and runs great. it will start running like crap again once the rpms get below the point stated above. the timing is spot on, compression is 190psi across the board, both fuel pumps are functioning, the ignition coil is working correctly, no blown fuses, the cat isnt stopped up, no fuel leaks, nothing.