home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > maintenance & nonperformance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2021, 04:23 PM   #1
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Mississauga, ON (Canada)
Default 140 Linkage Solutions?

Right, this isn't a problem yet, but I can see it being an issue in the future, so I figure I might as well ask and order parts now.

So I have a 1967 144S, which originally came with SU carbs. I'm probably swapping to either a 38/38 DGMS or DCOE 45s when I get around to reassembling the (swapped) engine.

I understand that the 140s, because of the intake being on the passenger side, has a linkage bar of some sort that runs under the dash.



Where exactly am I supposed to attach any kind of aftermarket linkage arms to?

I see this nub that pokes out of the firewall, but is it threaded?

I also happen to have an IPD throttle cable conversion kit for a DGMS... is that possible to use on a non-EFI car?

Sorry for some probably dumb noob questions.
Any guidance is helpful.
__________________
Doing the wrong thing the right way.

-------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by redblockpowered View Post
Will you do $14.99 shipped?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IansPlatinum View Post
please no more prying things with screwdrivers and bashing things with hammers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwazywazy View Post
my balls have more wrinkles than my brain
--------------------------------------------

-1967 144S
-1983 245 Diesel
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 05:17 PM   #2
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

The DGMS linkage uses the original firewall bushing for the rear of the cross shaft. The front will ride in a heim joint on the manifold.

DCOE manifolds typically have mounts for the cross shaft.

With either setup the linkage rod from the pedal connects to an arm on the cross shaft just like with the SU's.
hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 08:26 PM   #3
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Mississauga, ON (Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post

With either setup the linkage rod from the pedal connects to an arm on the cross shaft just like with the SU's.
Well that simplifies it.

I'm just having the worst time locating individual linkage components.
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 08:36 PM   #4
alschnertz
Enough already!
 
alschnertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatcatbestcat View Post
I'm just having the worst time locating individual linkage components.
Maybe stick with the SUs?
__________________
Differences of opinions should be tolerated, but only if they're not too different. - Sharon Craig
alschnertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 09:22 PM   #5
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Mississauga, ON (Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alschnertz View Post
Maybe stick with the SUs?
That would involve rebuilding a set. Mine had a bunch of acorns in them.

There's a reason I'm switching.
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 08:08 PM   #6
alschnertz
Enough already!
 
alschnertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatcatbestcat View Post
That would involve rebuilding a set. Mine had a bunch of acorns in them. There's a reason I'm switching.
Rebuilding a pair of SUs is pretty simple, but I didn't realize you had a "reason for switching".
Go for it!
alschnertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 09:22 PM   #7
hiperfauto
The Librarian
 
hiperfauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Default

Redline sells linkage kits for the DGV/DGMS carbs. It's not listed on their website so you have to call them to order or buy it from me. I keep them in stock.



They also have linkage kits for the DCOE's but they have a 5/16" shaft with stamped metal arms that can slip if not tightened very tight.



I like the kits that Pierce sells. They use a 3/8 stainless steel shaft with aluminum arms that are much nicer.

hiperfauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 09:25 PM   #8
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Mississauga, ON (Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
Redline sells linkage kits for the DGV/DGMS carbs. It's not listed on their website so you have to call them to order or buy it from me. I keep them in stock.


I might have to go that route.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiperfauto View Post
I like the kits that Pierce sells. They use a 3/8 stainless steel shaft with aluminum arms that are much nicer.
Eh, I haven't had the best experience with Pierce. Last manifold/linkage set I ordered from them, they gave me the wrong sized eyelets for the manifold, and neither would fit. I contacted them about ordering the correct size, and they told me to call their shop... I'm not into long distance calls.
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 12:39 PM   #9
OttoB
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: E(Seattle!Vancouver! San Francisco!LA!) Helsinski
Default

I would get pedal from 240 and wire from B20 engine.
OttoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 11:17 PM   #10
c1800
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: A small village of one.
Default

“ I'm not into long distance calls.”.

Huh?
c1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 07:33 AM   #11
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Mississauga, ON (Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c1800 View Post
“ I'm not into long distance calls.”.

Huh?
Rogers.
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 01:09 PM   #12
AndrewNance
Amateur hour!
 
AndrewNance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Default

Dude just have your SUs rebuilt instead of swapping to that miserable Weber, unless you fully commit to the DCOEs.
__________________
'67 122 - b230, t5, 8.8
Feedback
AndrewNance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 03:30 PM   #13
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack
 
fatcatbestcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Mississauga, ON (Canada)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewNance View Post
Dude just have your SUs rebuilt instead of swapping to that miserable Weber, unless you fully commit to the DCOEs.
I had my heart set on running a header, which would mean buying a separate SU manifold.

I already have the functional carbs, just trying to run it before doing anything fancy.
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.