home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2017, 12:23 AM   #1
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default Finished my B230ft swap but having issues

Hi guys, I think this is my first post here.

So I managed to swap and rebuild a b230ft into my 242 and I cant be happier to finally get this thing done but I have just a couple issues with some questions.

I picked up an MBC and and A/F gauge. I got it on and setup without any restriction through the MBC so there was no restriction when you would blow through it. After turning it up the slightest bit and taking it for a drive, I would floor it and I could feel the car start to FLY but then it all of the sudden has hesitation and doesnt even have stock power (like it cant even go as fast when I didnt even have the MBC on).
So it seems like it has fuel cut issues when it goes the slightest bit above stock boost which is about 6 or 7 psi?

Anyone have an idea, from what I have read I should be able to go up to at least 10 psi before having these issues.

I have seen people put a resistor on the MAF to increase fuel supply? but I dont think that it is the answer since I shouldnt have fuel cut problems at the moment
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 12:25 AM   #2
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

what engine management are you running ?
__________________
85 245 | 82 242| 75 245| 69 145 |66 122| 67 220




Quote:
Originally Posted by paul buck View Post
I love you even more Jack.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BritishBrick
Don’t bother, I would literally rather throw them away than give you the pleasure. I will never sell to you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuesday View Post
I expect nothing less from an incel like you, Jack.
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 12:38 AM   #3
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

Make sure rubber intake hose hooked to the turbo intake isn't collapsing and causing motor to stumble.
__________________
1988 245 White slicktop M47 Wagon! 93 b230f. LH 2.4 STS flat flywheel.
1990 745 B230FT Getrag JohnV flywheel 240mm clutch 13c A-cam 3.54 G80 548K
1991 740SE B230FT NPR Strut braces IPD bar A cam 550cc EV14's. 3.73 G80 M90 to put in.
1995 940 White racing wagoon. 13c m90 to put in
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 12:40 AM   #4
Jack
junkman
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Ass Cheek Of History
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
Make sure rubber intake hose hooked to the turbo intake isn't collapsing and causing motor to stumble.
good point. Had that happen
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 02:47 AM   #5
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default

LH2.4, Very interesting on the hose collapsing, very smart will check tomorrow.

Thanks
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:09 PM   #6
doucheNozzle
Newbie
 
doucheNozzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Pitt, 15147
Default

What's your wideband and boost gauge say?
__________________

'93 944 T - #TrophyVo
'00 XC70 SE - Slow
'11 XC90 V8 - Torque Monster
doucheNozzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:22 PM   #7
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default

You guys are so smart I would not have thought about the hose collapsing. I find that my filter is too small and creates to much resistance, causing the hose to collapse. Any recommendations on a good intake setup? BTW pulls pretty good, thanks guys
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:32 PM   #8
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

The hose collapsing is a common problem is why we all had that problem when we turned up the boost. Get better intake filter, cone filter perhaps. Also newer stock intake hose that isn't all soft could fix the problem or replacing intake hose with solid aluminum piece and just use the rubber to connect it at each end. That way you don't have a big rubber hose that will collapse. You might also be able to buy aftermarket silycone hose that is stock style but would be stiffer then rubber.

If you can get extra aluminum boost hose the one that goes between the intercooler and the intake manifold you can cut it and use the end that has the nipple on it for the PCV hose like the rubber stock before turbo hose has.
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:47 PM   #9
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default

So I do have a generic cone filter, spec-v I think. The hose is definitely soft but I have this stupid sensor in the hose, pct I think, wondering if I can just get rid of it but then what would I do about blow back? I am interested in your aluminum idea. Maybe I can move the pcv hose to the intake manifold instead of right before the turbo so that I wont get oil going through the turbo and intercooler once she gets a little older, I should set up a catch can as well (off topic)
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:51 PM   #10
VB242
Beep beep zip tang
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Right Coast
Default

That's just a heater for the PCV hose in the intake I believe. Probably can do without it, I don't have one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 240240 View Post
I'm shocked someone actually took me seriously.
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:55 PM   #11
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default

Yeah, I figure I can do without it as well, what did you do with the hose? relocate it to the manifold? I'm pretty sure thats how they have it on the N/A motors
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:58 PM   #12
VB242
Beep beep zip tang
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Right Coast
Default

I'm running a B21F, different PCV but I made my own maf/amm to turbo pipe and put a hose barb on it for the PCV.
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 12:24 AM   #13
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default

Gotchya, wondering if it would be healthier for the engine to run it to the manifold now, instead of right before the turbo, like I said oil will eventually be running through the turbo and intercooler, I dont like the sounds of that
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 12:26 AM   #14
VB242
Beep beep zip tang
 
VB242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Right Coast
Default

I forgot to mention I have an eBay catch can inline before the inlet to cut down on the oil and moisture.
VB242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 01:10 AM   #15
Fumomike
Board Member
 
Fumomike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Valdosta, GA
Default

Anyone have a link to a replacement stock intake hose for the turbo?
Fumomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 02:26 AM   #16
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

That is why I said use a metal tube that has a nipple on it so you can put your PVC hose there before the turbo like stock. You should leave it there. Also as stated you don't need that temp sensor if you got it. I don't think the lh2.4 240 harness even has that in it if yourn't using that.

Last edited by sbabbs; 01-24-2017 at 02:13 AM..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 12:47 AM   #17
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbabbs View Post
That is why I said use a metal tube that has a nipple on it so you can put your PVC hose there before the turbo like stock. You should leave it there. Also as stated you don't need that temp sensor if you got it. I don't think the lh2.4 240 harness even has that in it if "you're" using that.

It's not a temp sensor in the intake hose. It's a heater.
__________________
No Start Thread
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 02:12 AM   #18
sbabbs
Board Member
 
sbabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rushing Lane, Scappoose, OR
Default

We'll whatever it is, 240 lh2.4 NA harness doesn'ter not have it. But he could be using a harness from a 740 turbo or 940 for all I know, ain't much..
sbabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 02:18 AM   #19
Sliding242
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Default

yeah the harness from a 940, 240's dont have them.

What do you guys think about bypassing it straight to the manifold?
Sliding242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 05:58 AM   #20
JPS
Board Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Friesland
Default

about your power loss, wat kind a sparkplug wire's are you running? i had in mine, (12psi lh2.4 chipped) some b230f wire's, and it did not work at all. at about 3500 4000rpm it began to lose power, almost like fuel cut. i have now some b23et plug wire's, and it fly to 5000+ rpm.
JPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 12:02 PM   #21
ME93940Turbo
Board Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Maine, USA
Default

I notice in my B230FT the hesitation when you punch it before the engine is up to operating temperature. After that, it runs normally. I only have it cranked to 8.5 PSI, which I would consider a safe level. Always love going past 3,000 RPM. Nothing more addicting than that.
ME93940Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 04:45 PM   #22
ZVOLV
<Master Tech>
 
ZVOLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Default

Sounds like a classic misfire! Now you have to figure out if it's a misfuel or ignition misfire. If it happens under load it's probably a mis fuel due to an airleak. Ignition misses usually show up in the morning or when wet.
ZVOLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 08:20 PM   #23
lookforjoe
Making Volvo Parts Fit
 
lookforjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rockland County, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sliding242 View Post
yeah the harness from a 940, 240's dont have them.

What do you guys think about bypassing it straight to the manifold?
NO. It is attached in the inlet for a reason - unless you go VTA you need the vacuum draw in the CC that that huse provides- there is no secondary vac line on the breather Nipple like NA
__________________

My XR July2013 - 446AWHP @ 8K rpm C30 AWD conversion Feedback Thread
lookforjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.