home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2016, 02:15 AM   #1
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default Boost pressure

I'm new here so first a very small introduction.

I'm from Germany and I have a '96 940 LPT.
Plan is to tune it step for step, no exact hp goals, just for the fun off it.

What I've done so far.
Stage 0 tune up
Full flow 3" exhaust
Air box mod
Chassisbrace
Front anti sway bar off a 960

And here's where I'm at at the moment.
I've installed a wideband gauge and tru boost controller, both from AEM.
When I'm sure everything works as it should I'm going to raise the turbo pressure.
The wideband seams to be working as it should but the tru boost controller doesn't.
When I'm on full throttle to redline the pressure raises on the gauge to a max off 0,8 bar.
My turbo config is standard, so to my understanding it should do about 0,35 bar.

Can anyone say what their pressuregauge puts out with a standard turbo config?

Gr. Patrick
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 05:11 AM   #2
nordmaschine
forced instruction
 
nordmaschine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Balkans, BiH
Default

Someone before you has already put the FPT actuator in it?
__________________
Jetronic is romantic.
- '94 965 - D̶2̶4̶T̶I̶C̶, then M̶5̶0̶B̶2̶5̶ now OM606.962.
- '90 744 turbo 16 valve LPG - B204GT/M90 - trophy w̶i̶f̶e̶ car.
- '89 764 B280F - Daily barge.
- '86 780 TDIc - Bertone #301
- Various 740's, 940's, 960's and a couple of 760's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjets On a Plane View Post
Whiteblocks
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralSenn View Post
I think I might be too stupid to own a car.
nordmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 05:40 AM   #3
mrjaybeeze
Team Jetronic.info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norway
Default

Hi

Around 0.3 bar is stock boost on a B230LPT
B200LPT might be a little higher ?
0,8 bar is higher than any stock B230 turbo except those with turbo+ kit installed.
(some actually had it factory/dealer installed)

YS
Jaybee
__________________
ipdown.net/jetronic.info/tiki-index.php
Site open in "lame mode"
If you have some issues
just send me a message
mrjaybeeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 05:58 AM   #4
OttoB
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: E(Seattle!Vancouver! San Francisco!LA!) Helsinski
Default

Hej!

Is there low pressure B200? I mean B200FK, I know there is B200 FT, and B230 FK and B230 FT, but never seen or heard of B200FK.
OttoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 12:19 PM   #5
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

Its not fast enough to have the turbo kit.
Can anyone give my the vacuum at idle?
I'd like to compare with mine to see if the gauge is off.

Gr.
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 03:10 PM   #6
JerryJS8
der Junge
 
JerryJS8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Normal Saxony
Default

Grüße und herzlich wilkommen!

If you're running 0,8 bar, then it sounds like someone put in a new wastegate for you. My turbo runs around 18 hg at idle.
__________________
- 1987 244 (hand-me-down first car)
- 1990 744 (white with red leather)
- 1992 965 (green with tan leather)
- 1990 744 16v (pegleg drift can)
- 1992 480 (Renault disaster)

- 1989 745 16v
- 1991 744 (SE) 16v Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by nordmaschine View Post
Try to recreate and see what happens, our crystall ball servers are currrently down.
JerryJS8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 02:48 AM   #7
Triebwerk
Board Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austria
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper81 View Post
Its not fast enough to have the turbo kit.
Can anyone give my the vacuum at idle?
I'd like to compare with mine to see if the gauge is off.

Gr.
-0,6 bar appr.
__________________
regards Mathias
[Austria]
Triebwerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 05:12 PM   #8
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

I've made some movies, any thoughts and comments?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdCFakv0ZtQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_IEpst7q3Q
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 01:33 PM   #9
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

I replaced the boost gauge with another and it's stays the same.
So it's safe to say that the gauge isn't the problem.

The boost pressure rises linear from app. 0,35 bar @ 3000 rpm to 0,8 bar @ 6000 rpm.
To my onderstanding this shouldn't be linear and with a stronger wastegate spring it would reach 0,8 bar before the redline.

Therefore I concluded that my wastegate doesn't fully open.
Does anyone have another idea what it might be?

Gr. Patrick
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 02:00 PM   #10
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

I think its not staying shut.... how do you have your TruBoost set up? Did you set the spring weight?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 02:47 PM   #11
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

I have the solenoid bypassed to first be sure everthing engine related works fine.
So now I know I have a turbo problem
Maybe a good time to upgrade it to a bigger one
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 02:50 PM   #12
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper81 View Post
I have the solenoid bypassed to first be sure everthing engine related works fine.
So know I know I have a turbo problem
Maybe a good time to upgrade it to a bigger one.
I dont understand. You are building pressure way late in the RPM range, that means your wastegate is bleeding off exhaust gas (opening) too early, or you have a massive boost leak.

What wastegate are you using?
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:05 PM   #13
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

Car is with stock turbo and wastegate as far as I know.
To me it looks like the wastegate opens just a bit or is stuck open just a bit.
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:23 PM   #14
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper81 View Post
Car is with stock turbo and wastegate as far as I know.
To me it looks like the wastegate opens just a bit or is stuck open just a bit.
fix that. tighten it to where you have to pull on the actuator to slide it over the mounts. Or hook the waste gate line up to an air compressor an fill it to .3 bar and adjust the rod so the waste gate is just barely open.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:29 PM   #15
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

I've been reading the forum and saw that a freeflow 3" exhaust can cause this problem, is this correct?
If so how can I correct this on the stock turbo?
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:31 PM   #16
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper81 View Post
I've been reading the forum and saw that a freeflow 3" exhaust can cause this problem, is this correct?
If so how can I correct this on the stock turbo?
3" exhaust from the turbo back won't cause issues like that. Your waste gate is not tight enough. tighten the waste gate rod.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 11:07 AM   #17
marcc20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Holland
Default

my turbo on my b200ft boost up up to 1.0 bar only with mbc, open air intake, and a vikingchip.
with out thechip u run in to boost cuts
marcc20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 11:42 AM   #18
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

Next wednesday I'm planning to take the turbo out of the car an check it.

This should make thgins clearer. ☺
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 02:05 AM   #19
Cooper81
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Default

A little later than planned but last weekend I took the turbo out of the car and checked it.
The turbo itself is in good shape, bearing could be better.
I checked the function of the wastegate and it does what it should, at +/- 0,35 bar the wastegate is fully open at 0 bar it is closed.

While I was at it, I replaced all of the vaccuum hoses by better quality ones. This makes a lot of difference, the others ones were probably acting like balloons. Idling is better and response is faster,

But all in all the issue remains, booste pressure still climbs to 0,8 bar at redline.
I'm beginning to think that it might be that the wastegate can't handle enough flow in combination with my 3" full flow exhaust.

Any suggestions?

Gr. Patrick
Cooper81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 02:12 AM   #20
iHateVolvoPeople
Board Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Midwest
Default

That's definitely it. The 13c wastegate is tiny. The puck is large enough, but look underneath it. The hole is almost only half the size. Stock boost is what, 6-7psi? I have a 'stock boost' 13c on my +t with a 2.5" straight pipe. On colder days I'll see 10-11psi. Port the wastegate if you want to maintain stock boost pressures.

FWIW, I got a 15g and the wastegate hole was MUCH larger. Never had a boost spike issue with it.
__________________
Feedback Thread
White liberals are the scum of the earth.
iHateVolvoPeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.