home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2016, 07:46 PM   #1
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default 1997 940 Turbo 300hp setup HELP!

Heya !

my volvo has the 300hp setup

GT30 Turbo
Turbobrick chips
558 Injectors
3inch intercooler pipes
Larger exhaust
..........................

My problem is that the car is down on power, its like a volvo 240 with an F engine..
my plugs are white and the car is stuttering on idle, not much but its there, when im driving the car is *jerking* dont know a word for it feels like i have kangaroo gas on the tank.

The last owner ran the exact same setup but with a 19t turbo and the maf infront of the turbo like the engines is original, iv moved the maf to the other side, the last owner ran 1.4bar pressure and the car was QUICK! now i have installed the gt30 turbo, moved the maf and fitted a larger exhaust and the car runs like crap :( any help ??

What i have removed is the whole pipe that runs from the crankcase ventilation and the elbow with a vaccum hose on it and plugged the nippel on the intake, i just stuck an crankcase filter on a small lenght of hose on the crankcase vent... Dont know if i need that elbow with vaccum :/ Its running very lean by the looks of the sparkplugs...
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:08 PM   #2
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

move the MAF back and get recirculating BOV.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:16 PM   #3
Canadan
Board Member
 
Canadan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oregon
Default

Check maf to see if it got toasted. Not really a problem where it is, i run one pre throttle post turbo no problem but if it tests good it wouldnt hurt to return it to stock just to rule that out. What are your air fuel ratios looking like? You DO have a wideband...right???
Canadan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:56 PM   #4
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default

I dont use a bov on the car at all, i just got a wideband sensor today so im going to install it this weekend When i unplug my maf i get the CEL in my dash and the car almost dies and idles around 500-600. When i cold start the car, it seems to run smoother at idle. Running no bov shouldent effect the engine at all ? or will it ?? Il phost a photo tomorrow, its 03:00 at night in norway now so :p
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:02 PM   #5
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

How do you not run a bov?
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:33 PM   #6
Wilford Brimley
Is posting from the grave
 
Wilford Brimley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marysville, wa
Default

Must like surge?
__________________
94 944 + lots of stuff http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=354303
Wilford Brimley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 11:04 PM   #7
Canadan
Board Member
 
Canadan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilford Brimley View Post
Must like surge?
Can you explain yourself a bit more mr diabetus?
Canadan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:04 AM   #8
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default

Well im the *dose* kinda guy ;) There is only 1 bov that i like and thats the RFL bov, i have one of those but its on my S4. Bov is no the problem here.
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:04 AM   #9
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Move the maf back.
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:25 AM   #10
superboosted
You wish you had some..
 
superboosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore. Murder,etc..
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotankshane View Post
Move the maf back.
no good post turbo? I was gonna do the same,had good luck in my turboford days.
__________________
-2000 Mazda Miata
-1999 Lexus LS400- driver,boss ride.
-1992 Honda Shadow
-2017 Jeep Wrangler- wifey's apple cart.
-none are volvos-

Quote:
Originally Posted by centason View Post
You may get detonation and the kool-aid man loves 940s
superboosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:04 AM   #11
redleg
Board Member
 
redleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando
Default

Get your wideband on it... What flavor plugs are u running? I ran the same setup: gt30, LH2.4 chips. I moved my maf post intercooler with no issues @21psi....
redleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:13 AM   #12
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superboosted View Post
no good post turbo? I was gonna do the same,had good luck in my turboford days.
Each setup varies. But if OP's car was running fine on the same injectors with different turbo it shouldn't be running this poorly, the first thing I would do in the process of elimination is move the maf back to where it was.

I've run a test with one maf pre-turbo and another maf post turbo, both good working units, when I ran the car with maf in stock location for a turbo car it ran great, when I plugged into the post-turbo maf it ran OK but was sluggish and didn't enrich for boost properly. Of course I had already nailed down the tune with the maf in stock location, if the car was tuned with the maf post-turbo it should theoretically be just fine.
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:38 AM   #13
DMFWallace
Ignoramus Bigotus
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Default

Yeah as far as I've seen all the Swede +t guys leave the AMM where it is and their cars are far more ridiculous than a lot of the US guys. Still, I'd move the AMM back to pre-turbo and see if it makes a difference.

You really should be using some sort of compressor bypass. You can probably find an OE style recirc valve from an earlier garrett-equipped 740 turbo or go to the junkyard and find a turbo Saab or mitsubishi and grab the bosch recirc valve off of it. Snapping the throttle closed and having the system back up like that is kinda rough on bearings.

Which AMM are you running anyway?
__________________
'90 244 - Too many memories to crush
'92 944T - Need any 940 parts?
'96 854 GLT - Not mine any more but still in the family
'92 245 - For Sale?
'97 854R - Waiting to get fixed
'06 XC90 V8 - Family Hauler - Wifemobile
'04 XC70 - Impulse buy of the year
Feedback:http://forums.turbobricks.com/showth...ght=dmfwallace
DMFWallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:44 AM   #14
redleg
Board Member
 
redleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orlando
Default

Maybe lh2.4 is relearning.? The battery must have been disconnected at some point? Car will run funky for the first 100 or so miles... IMO a stand alone ECU is in order with that size turbo to get the best tune out of it.. oh and you get to ditch the AMM.
redleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:45 AM   #15
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default

[IMG][/IMG]

Here is the car now.
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:54 AM   #16
DMFWallace
Ignoramus Bigotus
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Default

Okay, so big AMM, 016 or 12 I guess.. forget which is which. I know TLAO recommends moving to the big AMM when using his chips, don't know exactly what chips you're using but the 3" is a bonus. I'm surprised you're rocking a factory intercooler with that much turbo.

You know.. I'd hold off on doing any AMM relocation and make sure both fuel pumps are working right. It might be coincidental but it really sounds like you're just underfueled.
DMFWallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:18 AM   #17
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default

Yea thats the problem, the plugs are white and its not getting enough fuel.. its a 97 so its only got a fuel pump in the tank. The stock intercooler is going to be replaced soon
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:24 AM   #18
Wilford Brimley
Is posting from the grave
 
Wilford Brimley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Marysville, wa
Default

Hard to believe that's 300hp
Wilford Brimley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:41 AM   #19
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Its hard to believe that its not going to eat throttle body bits and pieces here pretty quick.
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:44 AM   #20
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Its not gonna be 300 wheel without a generous dyno, sub freezing temps, and a minimum of 22-25psi on the stock IC and manifold..
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:00 PM   #21
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default

have dyno papers on 294 WHP with the 19T turbo on 1.4 bar with alu intercooler, when i got the car he had taken off the bigger exhaust, intercooler and turbo, so i bought that new and had an org intercooler laying around. But thats another story, now i need to get my car running right, i can understand thats its very lean now because of the big turbo, so i should get a new regulator. The car has a ported 531 topp with an A camshaft
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:32 PM   #22
turbotankshane
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Well thats what I'm saying, without a good intercooler its going to take more boost to make that goal. With a stock intercooler its going to take more boost.
turbotankshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 04:02 PM   #23
Trollhunter
Newbie
 
Trollhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Norway
Default

Update, the car runs much better now, moved the AFM infront of the turbo, but now the car dies if i accelerate and let off the gas, but it feels like its got alitte more power and its not stuttering when im flatout, at idle its the same
Trollhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 04:05 PM   #24
okoye
Board Member
 
okoye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Orlando
Default

Is the bov venting to atmosphere?
__________________
1991 Volvo 940se sedan m90 swapped, 17x10 oz fittistars, Bilsteins.
1994 Volvo 960 turbo b204ft m46

Quote:
Originally Posted by vagabond View Post
no one saw me with my little umbrella and sandpaper though.
okoye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 04:29 PM   #25
JW240
All idiot, no savant
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Default

base idle adjusted correctly?
close the hose to the IAC and the engine should idle at 500 rpm. If not clean throttle plate/housing and adjust throttle stop and TPS with the hose to the IAC closed till you get 500 rpm.
__________________
240 | 1991 | 345K Km | B230F+T | Cosworth T3 60/63 | M90 | TrueTrack (parked for a few months)
dd: 940 | 1992 | B230FB
Husaberg FE450 70 degree '12 mx/supermoto swapped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwood Chair View Post
Don't forget about properly seasoning it on HF jackstands for a couple years whilst dreaming about big powah 'goals'.
JW240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.