• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

740 16valve turbo build "drift machine"

mannygee740

sup guys... im fairly new to this thread stuff but i thought nothing would be cooler than to get peoples opinions on my project ideas and builds... so i currently own a volvo 740 gle N/A with the stock volvo 4 speed transmission... my original build idea was to make a somewhat BAMSES styled single cam monster but i recently found a 16 valve b234f head at a junkyard and the car had no more than 120 k on it !!! im planning on getting a 91 b230ft bottom block *(i heard the cylinder walls have an oil cooling system and it sounds absolutely enjoyable lol) rsi waveguided low compression pistons, rsi forged rods, a crank shaft out of a volvo penta to convert it to a stroker (still not sure about this, i dont kno alot about displacement increase and boost) like i said im new to volvo, rwd, and turbochargers so this is all still confusing. i got alotta questions so if someone would like to help me it would be greatly apprectiated

im planning on getting a 91 b230ft bottom block *(i heard the cylinder walls have an oil cooling system and it sounds absolutely enjoyable lol)

Well, firstly, hello!

And secondly, the above quoted section; You'll want a as-late-as-possible (read: Post-'93) B230FT block if you're going for piston-cooling oil squirters.

Squirters can be added to any block.....

Got a buddy that'll be looking the other way when it comes to smog time?

I'm gonna be keeping my stock motor and exhaust in my shed for when I need to smog... I'm an ex Honda kid so I know the smog struggle:-D but about adding the squirters... How do I do this?